Humans logo

Pandemic & The Joy of Complaining

Muse #12

By Valorie TaylorPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Pandemic & The Joy of Complaining
Photo by Frank Busch on Unsplash

Pandemic & The Joy of Complaining

It’s guaranteed that we will all have a Before and After COVID-19 story. And almost all of us will have a During COVID-19 story. That’s for sure!

But complaining? Welp, the thrill is gone to the tune of B.B. King. The thrill is gone away. Here’s what I mean.

Before the Pandemic I actually enjoyed complaining about my phone dropping calls. “This darn phone,” complained I on countless occasions, “this service is the worst! Don’t you agree?” (Asking anyone who would listen.

Now? I’m just glad to have a device capable of showing me my Mom, my children and grandchildren’s faces. Truth. I don’t care what it costs if it keeps my hope afloat that I’ll be able to embrace family again.

I can’t think of the last time in recent months that I threatened to ditch The One. Seriously. He is my favorite source of complaint giving me near countless reasons at any given time.

The off comment.

The late compliment.

The ignored gesture. Married life, ya’ feel me?

Now? The pandemic has somehow made our relationship richer. We laugh more, plan more, see about one other a lot more. For my birthday he gave me a draw-dropping diamond ring. He said I want you to know how much I love and appreciate you.

Whoa! Who does he think he is? I wondered. Am I being pranked? Where’s the camera?

This Dude blew up my whole complaint structure. I loved complaining about not being appreciated out loud and yes, sometimes just to myself!

(Shaking my fist) Darn you, pandemic!

It’s not all date nights and loud fights for us. What was surface has somehow been scraped away and what’s left is nothing to complain about. Yeah, I don’t wanna lose this.

Food and clean water? I have both. I have friends with both, too. And don’t you worry, I know where each of you lives.

Health care insurance? Check! Although I’m afraid to go to the doctor with a complaint because I’m afraid to catch COVID.

Reliable transportation? Check again with plans to buy a newer car.

Shelter? Yup and thank you, Lord.

Gainfully employed? Yes. And savings, too!

So what does complaining accomplish anyway? Not much. Think for a moment. Complaining allows you to blow off stream, be heard by a small audience of persons who can’t really solve your problem. And if you’re like me, you’re left with the shallow and fleeting satisfaction of it only to now have to bird-dog the source of your complaint just to make certain it doesn’t happen again.

Where’s the joy in that?

I mean, can complaining about life make it perfect in some way?

For some, the aforementioned list of food, clean water, shelter isn’t—whether before or after the pandemic—on their list. Notice how we don’t even hear about the plight of people in third world countries since the pandemic?

And hey, I’m not unaware of the rampant racism, shifty leadership from POTUS down not the discomforts of wearing a mask that shapes our pandemic experience; things that force us to examine ourselves, our vote and our future.

Before I complain again and really, truly enjoy it, I’ll dial back to this date 2020 and remember all the things that are far from perfect in my life but at the same serve me completely. I’ll stop taking pot-shots at my circumstances and The One as if this Queen deserves every thing on her own terms.

Since the spoiled celebrity is no longer in fashion since the pandemic, I think I’ll pay more attention to the nuances that create the closest proximity to perfection. I’ll celebrate the blatant reality that miraculously allows me humor and grace during this pandemic.

Carry on.

Pandemic & The Joy of Complaining (c) Valorie M Taylor August, 2020. All Rights Reserved.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Valorie Taylor

I love words.

The pulse and rhythm of words. The startling presence of words and their amazing audacity to make us think, halt, change, laugh, cry and grow.

I am a Writer. A fictionalist (see, I created a word) Weaver of tales long & short.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.