Humans logo

One of the Lucky Ones

How the Australian Covid-19 crisis payments pulled me briefly out of poverty.

By Joanna Savage ColemanPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2

My family has always been poor. I was raised on government benefits, and during adulthood I have only succeeded in securing financial independence for short periods of time. ‘Just getting by’ works fine until something goes wrong. Until something breaks. Like your back hurts, or your vacuum cleaner dies, or a pandemic starts.

Through necessity I have learned to wear my poverty like a badge of honour. A badge that makes me stronger than the rich folk who couldn’t get by without their aircon and fancy cars and brand-name shoes. As kids we used to look at them and joke that ‘they wouldn’t survive in the wild.’ I think anyone who’s grown up below the poverty line will attest to the feeling of being superior to those on stable incomes. Those who would throw away rotting food instead of just cutting the mould off. Those who would baulk at the idea of opening cans that were past the use-by date. Those who would turn their noses up at op-shop clothes or tip-shop furniture.

When I was a kid I thought we were middle class. A simple deduction based on knowing there were people who were better off than us, and people who were worse off too. Even though we lived in sheds or caravans or tents, at least we owned the land we squatted on. We were always the lucky ones.

When I moved interstate for college, and started managing my own money, I used to say it was possible to live on Centrelink. Back then, in 2008, that was about $475 a fortnight. I used to say it was enough for food and rent and bills, but if the vacuum cleaner broke, I wouldn’t be able to replace it. That’s the fine line we live on. Everything is okay unless something unexpected happens. Unless something breaks. But I was fortunate enough to get a place in Government housing while I studied. So even in the middle of Tasmanian winter, when I would run the heater just three times per week so as not to blow out the electricity bill, I was paying income-based rent. I was one of the lucky ones.

My Dad and Grandmother died when I was in my early 20’s and the culmination of their estates allowed me to buy a small house in a small town in rural NSW. Nothing fancy. Though, I wouldn’t be seen dead in something fancy anyway - I have my pride. But I didn’t have to pay rent. Finally I could afford to buy the whole grain bread and enough fresh vegetables and fruit to satisfy the daily intake recommended by the Australian government. That was the first time in my life I’d been able to afford that consistently. No, I don’t smoke, or do drugs, or gamble or party. Though, I don’t blame those who do. It’s a desperate trap we are caught in, and despite our pride, I think we all want some respite from it.

In my late 20s things started breaking. Not just my vacuum cleaner, but my body too. I’ve had two teeth pulled because at $250 a filling, I couldn’t afford to get them fixed. Once it’s bad enough to be considered an emergency procedure, you can skip the 24-month waiting list for public dentists. I’ve suffered terrible back pain for years. Bad enough to prevent me from working, but not bad enough to get me out of my ‘mutual obligations’: Searching for full-time employment. Like many people living below the poverty line, I want to work. But I can’t afford the treatment for my back. Medicare only covers limited visits in a 12 month period. That goes for mental health too. I find myself stuck in a loop of beginning to fix problems but unable to complete them. Starting again in the new year. But I own my own house, and I don’t have to rent; so I’m still one of the lucky ones.

COVID-19 has taken indiscriminately, and my heart goes out to those that have suffered, or lost someone they love. My heart goes out to those who have lost their regular income and are ‘surviving in the wild’ for the first time, and to those who have been denied help. But for myself, and for many others living below the poverty line - who for whatever reason aren’t able to break free - the stimulus package that doubles our income has made us the richest we’ve ever been. For the first time I can afford to get my back treated. I can afford to get my teeth fixed. I can afford to service my car and buy the fresh fruit and vegetables to satisfy the recommended daily intake. I can afford to replace my vacuum cleaner. I’m one of the lucky ones.

humanity
2

About the Creator

Joanna Savage Coleman

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.