Humans logo

Omar's Diary to 7th February 2020

Trade, Mitzi, Paddington Bear, Madagascar, Hugh Grant and Coronavirus

By Alan RussellPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
Like
Dreamies - as comforting as vanilla

During the last week of January my post prandial period of relaxation was interrupted in a most abrupt and disturbing fashion. Just as I was going into my light sleep there was a knock at the front door. I was unceremoniously bundled upstairs into a room that I had to share with Lady Servant and Mitzi. While there I heard the front door open, footsteps back and forth, some thudding sounds that came through the walls and “Left a bit, back…….to you….yeah, that’s it mate”.

Omar Towers had been invaded by “trade”. AGAIN! What made matters worse was that once again my Servants had not consulted me about what was going to happen or warned myself or Mitzi. It wasn’t even mentioned at breakfast that morning.

Two days after “trade” had been Mitzi was not very well. So, the Servants took her to the private medical service we belong to in town. Her diagnosis was a very slight temperature and partially swollen glands. The treatment was liquid medication.

Honestly, watching the Servants try to administer this medication is better than any comedy from the Apollo Theater in Hammersmith. Attempts at restraining Mitzi in a towel or dressing gown cause her to fidget and squirm as she occasionally draws blood while trying to wriggle free. To add insult to whatever injury the Servants may have suffered and while they were still trying to administer the medications I start meowing loudly. For extra effect I add in scratching some carpet or furniture vigorously. This always adds to their stresses and is a fine bit of sport.

I don’t blame Mitzi at all for her reactions as some of those medications are vile. The Servants take a liquid medicine every day before breakfast. They grimace as it goes down. If there is nothing wrong with them then why go through all of that. They try to make light of this and convince themselves they are drinking shots.

Paddington Bear's envelope all the way from Madagascar

Paddington Bear continues his world travels as an Ambassador for UNICEF. This week I received an envelope from him all the way from Madagascar, a large island off the East African coast. The island is twice as large as the mainland of Britain with only a quarter of the population. I wonder how many felines live there? Because of its position in the wind patterns of that part of the world it suffers from very strong winds that may not deliver rain for weeks at a time. This makes farming to grow enough food very difficult. UNICEF is there educating how to improve those farming methods to improve the food security and health of the island, especially the children who as we all appreciate; are the future.

Madagascar is where most of the world’s vanilla originates. Personally, I cannot stand the smell of it, but Lady Servant goes into paroxysms of delight whenever she uses it in her home baking.

The language of Madagascar is Malagasy and the most important words, as for any other language are:

ASFADY - Please

MISAOTRA – Thank you

I am sure that Paddington tipped his famous red hat every time he uttered those words as he fulfilled his ambassadorial duties. He truly is:

…….graced with polished manners and fine sense” – William Cowper (1731 - 1800)

At this point I must warn any readers of a sensitive nature that I will be reporting on an event here at Omar Towers in detail which includes some bad language. If you are worried you will be shocked, then I will not be offended if you stop reading at this point and return to some other activity.

My favourite window overlooks the front garden and from there I used to watch, in great comfort as it was next to a radiator, the bird life that come to feed. Blue tits, finches, coal tits, starlings, crows, sparrows, blackbirds and even nuthatches all make visits. This was one of my great pleasures. The other great pleasure associated with this window was rearranging the net curtains which always caused stress for Lady Servant. Another fine bit of sport.

When life returned to normal on the day “trade” had been in I thought I would restore my sanity in quiet repose on my favourite windowsill. As usual I jumped up but was bounced straight back on to the floor. I did try to maintain my dignity and hoped that the Servants did not see this happen, but they did. I think they both had a muffled giggle at my expense.

Trade had installed shutters! Shutters on my favourite windowsill that made it impossible for me to watch the birds again from that window. The words that passed through my mind were “Bugger” to quote a thespian servant called Hugh Grant from the opening scenes of Four Weddings and a Funeral. The other word that dominated the opening scene did cross my mind. Probably as frequently as it did in that same opening scene. Man Servant and I made an editorial decision and agreed it was not appropriate for this edition of the diary.

I do watch the news and I am very aware that an illness called Coronavirus that started in China is seen to be spreading around the world quite rapidly. I do hope Paddington does not contract it. I also hope the servants' medical services are prepared if it becomes an epidemic.

The shutters that were the root cause of my expletive explosion are made in China. Not wanting to sound like the worried well I am wondering if Mitzi contracted her virus from those shutters.

I am very pleased that two weeks after her visit to the medical centre Mitzi is now fully recovered. Especially after two weeks which I understand is the incubation period for the Coronavirus.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Alan Russell

When you read my words they may not be perfect but I hope they:

1. Engage you

2. Entertain you

3. At least make you smile (Omar's Diaries) or

4. Think about this crazy world we live in and

5. Never accept anything at face value

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.