Humans logo

Never had a bedroom headache in 44 years

I’m proud to have never said no to my husband

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

I’ve been with my husband a total of 44 years. In all that time I’ve never had a bedroom headache and never said no to making love. I have listened to women give varying reasons why they have said no to their spouses and that is their right. I used to read letters to Dear Abby and Ann Landers where wives said they hated their husbands touching their breasts or swatting them on the behind. I look at those as terms of endearment but not everyone thinks the same way on the subject. I’m speaking for the other team because there are wives like me who love the attention.

I understand that the world we live in now is more me oriented. I get it that many women today want to do their own thing and leave husbands to cook and clean for themselves. There once was a day when wives enjoyed doing things for their husbands. My great aunt cooked and cleaned for a husband and four children and she also worked a job outside the house. She never gave any hint that she had a problem with what used to be considered as women's work. She and my uncle were quite affectionate towards each other even in older age.

My spouse has never had to cook a meal in all our time together. Yes he has on occasion fixed himself breakfast or lunch but overall as far as feeding the family, he went from his mother, to me and for a while my grandma helped out. We loved cooking and did not see it as a chore. Likewise I enjoy making love with my spouse and don’t see it as a duty. I view us coming together as what we are supposed to do to express our love within the confines of marriage. This is the one thing spouses have that is special and is not supposed to be shared with others.

I’m just letting readers know that no matter how I may have been feeling, any time my husband wanted me, he got me and I always felt better afterwards. There were times early in our marriage that if either of us felt a cold coming on, once we were intimate the symptoms went away. I'm certain there are other wives who share my views but may feel intimidated to say so because of how other women will react. I once worked a job where 4 female co-workers teased me and said they bet my husband has been my only lover. They actually suggested that I needed to try someone else to see what it was like before I left this earth.

I didn’t listen and I’ve never been bored with my spouse or desired anyone else. I view my husband touching me and desiring me as part of his loving me. It’s never occurred to me that when we are together we are having sex. I see it as making love and expressing ourselves as spouses do, and it's something for us alone that we don’t do with other family members. I view my husband wanting me as him choosing me and not rejecting me for someone else. I listened closely to my marriage vows and take them seriously. Whenever I have a bad day, I don't turn my partner away. I look forward to being in his arms to help me relax.

Let me add that my spouse has never had to beg, bribe or cajole me into spending intimate time with him. It’s my pleasure most definitely, it’s my honor and yes my duty. I feel sorry for those who see love making as simply sex, use it like a weapon and consider it as a chore. The coming together with your spouse should be a natural extension of expressing that you love one another. Sex has been commercialized and ruined with “toys” and other contraptions. The simple art of a man and woman coming together should be poetry in motion. Let me add that as a woman married to a man, this is what I address.

Those who are in other types of relationships have the same privilege to express their reality. I can’t speak to that which I have never experienced so please no offense. I’m celebrating my world view. There is a magic and something spiritual in my opinion when my spouse and I are face to face and our bodies join as one. When we come together our spirits, souls, and bodies are intertwined and I know this is where we belong. In 44 years my attitude has not changed and I don’t anticipate that it will do so in the future.

marriage
Like

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.