Humans logo

My mysterious black book

Laura, my love..

By Juvy Rom- MasonPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
My mysterious black book
Photo by Henry Lai on Unsplash

Ian, 37, a full-time architect works so hard to fulfill his dreams with Laura, his long-time girlfriend. Although his schedule is so hectic, he would always make time for Laura like taking her out for dinner.

Ian and Laura are a perfect couple. They are so in love with each other, with real couple goals. They have been in a relationship for 5 years already.

Laura is a kindergarten teacher at their local community. She loves children and dedicates her spare time visiting her nephews and nieces while Ian is working overtime in the office.

Lately, Laura has noticed that Ian is so much into his work that he couldn't even catch up anymore with their planned dates.

One fine Saturday night, Ian and Laura finally met to have a sumptuous dinner. That was their 66th month of being together as a couple. Laura wasn't in the mood because she didn't expect that Ian would take her out that night as Saturdays are Ian's field and overtime work extension. Ian cheered up his girlfriend. He even handed her a beautiful bouquet of flowers and kissed her on her forehead like he always did for the past years. He ordered a strawberry sundae for Laura, as that is her favorite dessert. When Laura was about to eat it, she noticed a diamond ring in it. Ian beamed and looked at her in excitement. He got the beautiful ring, wiped it and held Laura's hand. Laura was surprised but half-hearted. Ian sweetly said to her, "I have long been waiting for this special night to come, to propose to the love of my life. Will you be my last and lifetime partner, my beloved wife, my dearest Laura?" Laura was speechless, not because she was happy, but because she was already hesitant of Ian's time for her and their relationship. She answered sadly, "I'm sorry, Ian, but I have to think about it." Ian was teary-eyed but he respected Laura's answer. He hugged her tight and whispered, "I love you so much, my dear Laura."

After 3 days of not seeing each other, Laura had been in deep thoughts. She realized all the efforts that Ian did for her and for their relationship. She was finally ready to tell Ian of her decision that night - to accept Ian's proposal of marriage. She got her phone and tried to call Ian. It kept ringing. Laura tried to dial his number a couple of times, but still no answer. She got worried. Knowing Ian, despite how busy his schedule is and wherever he is, he would always answer her calls. So she immediately drove to Ian's place, however, she couldn't find him there. She called Ian's family, friends and office colleagues, but none of them could tell where his boyfriend was.

Finally, she got a phone call. She almost collapsed, fell down on her knees and burst into tears when she was told of the saddest and most unexpected news she could ever hear that moment. Ian was rushed to the hospital and was declared dead on arrival.

Laura still couldn't accept that Ian was already gone. She didn't wanna believe that painful news. She regretted the last night she was with the love of her life.

After a month of grief, she finally had the chance to visit Ian's place. Surprisingly, she found a black box on Ian's bed with a key attached with it.

She got curious and unlocked the box, and there, she found a mysterious little black book. As she opened the black book, she couldn't stop her tears from falling while reading it:

Dear future wife,

I’m sorry if I haven’t given you much time lately.

I’m sorry if I have hang-ups and wasn't able to catch up with our planned dates.

I’m sorry if I haven’t told you about my condition. I have stage 4 brain cancer and it’s killing me every night, the reason I often fail to bid goodnight to you.

The night when I proposed to you, that was the most joyous and memorable moment I had. I was expecting you to say "Yes" undoubtedly. But I understand, you were hesitant due to those times I wasn't there at all times, especially those times when you needed me most. I am very sorry for failing you.

I don’t have time anymore because my doctor asked me to get enough rest.

Please know that inspite of my condition, my company got a huge contract project and I needed to focus with my presentation. I dedicated most of my time and energy for it because this project is for our future.

I haven’t told you all about this because I don’t want you to worry about me.

My doctor has advised me to refrain from stressful things but I could not contain my time and energy, thinking of you and only the best for our future because I promised myself since the day I met you, I will love you until the end of time.

With so much love,

Your Future Husband

P.S. : Whoever finds this box, please give it to my beloved Laura."

Laura was sobbing while reading the black book. As she reached the last page of the book, there was a small piece of paper with a note on it:

"Hello, My Love.

I’ve been secretly hiding this from you.

This is our savings account where I won the project at $20,000.00. It’s for you my love. I hope you are happy. I love you forever, my dearest Laura."

love
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.