Humans logo

My Friend Marc and The Homeless Voice

In Hopes You Will Hear Them

By Jessica BuggPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
1
Photo courtesy of the Author

Florida is under more relaxed CoVid-19 precautions now. We are allowed to move about fairly freely as long as we wear our masks.

Mine has rhinestones on it.

It feels nice to dress up a garment designed to protect you from death.

Co-Regent of Hell

I was one of the most vocal proponents against widespread shutdowns. I was called heartless. People told me that they hoped my children died. I was told I belonged in Hell.

I am certain upon my arrival to the gate of Hell Lucifer himself would embrace me and say

We have missed you so much while you were away.

Try typing that out to evangelical Kentuckians. My style of cynical humor was lost on them.

Or maybe it wasn’t.

Maybe when they couldn’t control my opinion with their invisible friends, they were upset?

I’m not really sure either way. I doubt most are reflective enough to truly use their religious beliefs in order to manipulate behavior of others. I’ll save that brand of hypocrisy for their fearless “used car lot of souls” leaders.

I fought the shutdowns because I have experienced poverty before . . .

Most Americans are one missed paycheck away from financial ruin.

Most Americans possess less than $1,000 to cover an emergency.

On average, for every month of unemployment, it can take three months to stabilize.

Our people have now been out of work or experienced a lack of adequate work for nine months.

I’d Rather Be Poor Than Dead

While I was arguing against the shutdowns because for the working class which is the euphemism sociologists and economists give to the working poor, working from home isn’t an option when you work at a restaurant or work as a housekeeper.

A good childhood friend who works as a nurse engaged in a very respectful difference of opinion.

I told her we can’t throw the young and healthy into economic fallout.

She told me

I’d rather be poor than dead.

I Wouldn’t

She kept up her views until her hospital laid-off workers. Her particular brand of nursing was deemed “non-essential”. She was supposed to close on a new house in May.

She is now living in an extended stay hotel due to the reluctance of the underwriters to give her a mortgage.

I wonder if she’s changed her mind? I haven’t asked.

I wouldn’t wish poverty in America on my worst enemy.

So as we convene on a makeshift normal the beginnings of the fallout held at bay only by let’s be honest the most paltry subsistence government aid that could be imagined in a country with our self-proclaimed resources.

The evictions and foreclosures haven’t begun yet.

At least not officially . . .

If your lease was up to during the moratorium, your landlord could elect to not renew.

If you paid or did not pay your rent, but the landlord could find another reason to remove you, they could and many did.

Maybe it’s all been a ruse all of these years.

Maybe these real estate investors are as broke as the rest of us . . .

They just dress it up better. But that’s another story for another day . . . Maybe later today . . . After I have a few more cigarettes to get into my flow . . .

Cracks In The Foundation Around Us

On any given corner on any given day now, driving through my part of Jacksonville (where the average household income is around $110,000) we are seeing the homeless, the beggars, the down on their luck.

They have always been here.

The Palm Frond Craft Seller

There’s the guy who sells the palm fronds woven into crosses. He works the JTB/Phillips corner. I offered to give him better things to sell. He said he lives in a tent and doesn’t want to keep track of things. The guys at Applebee’s say that they have all offered him work or help but he has refused so far.

The Homeless Voice

There is the Homeless Voice which is an organized group of panhandlers. They have signs, fluorescent yellow shirts, and appropriately labeled donation receptacles. They are by far the most organized.

They work anywhere from Southside near the Avenues Mall through to the Baymeadows area although one time I saw them near Southside and Touchton. Near the good Millers Alehouse and Copeland’s. I don’t think they fared well because I only saw them once there. They returned to their old stomping grounds.

I donate every time I have a chance. But I think writing this article will probably do more to enhance their voice than any amount of money I could give.

Tent City Behind The Best Bets

Best Bets is a poker room. Legal in Jacksonville. They are reduced to only having two locations now that their dog racing location was forced to close. I have spent many a night that turned into day there with one lover or another. My favorite gambler to spend time with was a terrible card player but fantastic in bed.

While smoking outside the Orange Park location (yeah they don’t allow smoking inside) I had a lady ask for a light and we began to chat.

She told me she lived behind the poker room. In a tent. With a bunch of other people in tents. Me being myself decided to introduce myself to her neighbors. There were hundreds of people living there. Easily two hundred. Hiding in plain sight. In the woods. Behind the poker room.

I asked if anyone would like to help getting a hotel room or something. All declined. Saying they would rather be in Tent City (as they referred to it) because at least they knew who they were living next to.

After seeing some of the extended stay hotels on the Westside of Jacksonville . . . I would prefer the Tent City as well.

The Family Of Rose Sellers

About a month ago, near St Johns Town Center, near Costco and Wawa to be exact, I noticed a man, woman, and what looked to be their son who from my guesses is around the age of my middle daughter, so about twelve but almost thirteen, with signs saying

Please Donate To Help Our Family

We will make you proud.

One side of the cardboard was written in English.

The other side of the cardboard was written in Spanish.

This family solicited donations from that same area for the better part of two weeks. Rain or shine. It rains a lot here in Florida. So don’t let the gravity of that statement escape you.

A few weeks later, venturing to get Panda Express which is near Costco, I happened to see the same family. But this time something was different.

They had a new sign that read

Please support my family’s business

Pink and Red Roses $2.00

One side of the cardboard was written in English.

One side of the cardboard was written in Spanish.

Being a previous donor, I couldn’t help but stop and inquire about buying roses. The father remembered me and gave me one. He went on to explain in broken English that they used the donation money to buy roses from Costco and they were selling them to passing vehicles and pedestrians.

He was pleased to report he was doing this with the blessing of the Costco staff (who were providing the flowers at a discount) and that they were on their way to securing a better future.

If I could have that rose preserved forever I would have. As a reminder, to always have a plan and always keep moving forward.

Marc

I have an affinity for gas stations and convenient stores. One of the tendencies of growing up a little on the trashy side. I love soda, scratch-off lotto, and convenience snacks. My favorite gas station fluctuates.

Right now I love Wawa for their soups although I am currently going to RaceTrac more often so I can earn “Sultan of Soda” status which entitles me to a free fountain drink every day for a year after getting enough loyalty points. I am committed to achieving this goal.

I first saw Marc one day sitting at one of the benches in front of the RaceTrac off of Gate Parkway. Pretty ballsy of RaceTrac to put a location on the highway named for the Gate Petroleum family.

He had his belongings packed neatly into two tote bags and he even possessed a cushion, the kind you might find on a country grandmother’s kitchen chairs, and a few blankets.

Marc lives at the gas station. On that bench.

He had a job but was laid off earlier this year. He worked for a collections agency. No, the irony is not lost on me. Marc is intelligent and kind. Marc wants to work but after losing his vehicle his job search territory is somewhat limited.

Marc told me that the gas station offered him a job as soon as the next training class starts. I asked him when that would be. He said that they weren’t sure due to CoVid and the strain it has put on their workers.

I set up a tab for Marc at the gas station which I settle every day. He gets 305 cigarettes, a fountain drink, and a sandwich. I told him to get whatever he wants but he says he doesn’t want to take advantage. I brought him a new hoodie because it’s starting to get cold now. I pray every night to whatever God that will listen to keep the temperature above freezing at night.

The shelters here have no more room and are quickly running out of resources. There are rumors they may have to shut down. I cannot confirm if those rumors are true.

What If They Spend The Money On Drugs?

That’s a common question I get asked when talking about giving to the homeless. Here are my thoughts.

One of my favorite bartenders in town smokes enough weed to make Snoop Dogg envious. I still tip him.

My mortgage broker easily consumes the equivalent of their own body weight in cocaine on an annual basis. I still use them for property purchases.

I spend enough money on cigarettes to fully fund an IRA. I still buy them.

I don’t care what these people spend the money on once I give it to them. See when the middle class and wealthy indulge in vices like drugs, alcohol, and gambling we dress it up and call it a “charity event” or “the office Christmas Party” its only when poor people engage in the same activities that society raises an eyebrow.

All I have to account for, is when I pass on and sit with Gabriel or Buddha or Jesus or maybe my guardian angel who really should have asked for an easier assignment to go over the details of my life, I want them to look at me and say when you could make a difference, you did.

Afterword

If you have an extra coat, find someone who is cold.

If you have extra food, find someone who is hungry.

If you have extra time, find someone who is lonely.

Winter is here and it’s only going to get tougher. And we are all in this together.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.