Humans logo

My First Impressions of Netflix's "Love is Blind" show.

A Mind Exploration of Dating In 2022

By Cathy (Christine Acheini) Ben-Ameh Published 2 years ago 5 min read
1

I whip up a quick 2 minute plate of Morrison's bacon noodles and sit down to decide what to watch on Netflix this Friday morning. Not that I owe anyone much explanation as to why I am watching Netflix on Friday morning when my mates are at work but yesterday was chemo for me and that makes me very tired and almost non functional for days so....

Anyways, back to how I started watching "Love is Blind"...

After watching "Inventing Anna". "Tinder Swindler" and Puppet Master", I decided I was done with seeking love in my imaginary universe of Netflix and enjoyed Alice's Wong's new stand up show "Don Wong" only to find myself sucked in less than 24 hours later by this new title "Love is Blind".

Even though this has concluded its second season I just want to present the experience of someone coming across it for the first time so, those of you who have seen the whole thing can like to chill for a minute here and let this newbie do her thing.

My first impressions of the show might be generic but here goes;

Everyone is so hot! Even those who claim to have insecurities. How is the rest of the actual real world supposed to compete or relate with that?

As I continued watching, I realized that these are indeed real people with real insecurities and appreciated the effort TV had made on presenting such glistening aesthetics with hair, make up and styling.

It was refreshing to see how most people's likes and dislikes are mirrored off others; for example people who tend to not want to date or marry from their race might usually possess the same character and social traits that turn them off the opposite sex of their race, and so it seems to work for those who tend to be drawn to people of their own race. This impression is inspired by the interaction between Deepti and Abishek "Shake".

Shayne and Natalie are quite refreshing in their conversation and there seemed to be no pretenses in Shayne's ego being fed or Natalie feeding it.

Shayne's dynamic with Shania however, is very different and playful but I am not sure Shania can feed his ego the way that Natalie did on their first encounter (which was a lot). And in the real world where this is done (bearing so many factors in mind apart from the blind part), I find myself thinking that Shayne and Trisha would look great on paper, probably get married and then divorced within three years. Or, in another scenario cheat on their significant others with each other. Why do I say this? Because from what I have observed usually people with similar size egos end up together before they get wise enough by learning in the course of that volatile relationship (or placid in the opposite scenario) that they should be more observant and considerate of their options when next they choose to find a significant other again.

Now Nick and Danielle present such candid and vulnerable conversation. Their shared experience of growing up in divorced backgrounds seems to pull them closer with Nick being an avid listener and Danielle feeling so safe to share her heart with him. I wonder really how Trisha could say Danielle is not her competition were Nick is concerned. That Trisha already took the conversation to a place of competition strikes her out for me. Yeah, I expect that Nick and Danielle will definitely be ending up together at the end of this show.

The dynamics between Vito and Shania are exciting and show that a majority of women are drawn to men who are like their fathers. Even though she is about three years older than Vito and probably earns more, Shania seems to connect genuinely with him and like his personality very much. Would this be the case in the real world where they could see each other and possibly have external influences on their judgements of each other?

Thirty five minutes into the show I can't help but google search "do nick and Danielle end up together in 'love is blind'?"

I am so elated to find that as of Season 2, Episode 5 of Love is Blind, Nick and Danielle are engaged.

I do another google search a few seconds after, "do Vito and Shania end up together in 'love is blind'" I don't find much to confirm this. I do find that Shayne and Natalie do end up together which is great news for my inner matchmaker.

In my search for more spoilers I run into this Women's Health article "Which 'Love Is Blind' Couples Are Still Together? Find Out Where Everyone Is Now"

Even though I sort of know the outcome of what I have started to watch so far, I think it is safe to continue watching and learning to confirm the red flags I could potentially look out for if I ever date again and, perhaps consider doing so with the conscious imagination of my physical eyes being closed so that my brain and mind can more efficiently do their work.

Putting all attempts at seriousness asides, I think it is a great show and I want to see all of the mess for myself and not merely be told about it.

And even though I have not seen the play out with any of the actors that look like me (Black skin I mean), I consider that another reason to continue watching to see if what I may already know is or not in these blind dating streets.

tv review
1

About the Creator

Cathy (Christine Acheini) Ben-Ameh

Bio:

Cathy Ben-Ameh has published two books; "The Impact of Music Streaming on The Music Industry: Case study-Spotify" and "'13- A Chapbook of 13 Short Poems". https://linktr.ee/cathybenameh

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.