Humans logo

My 2020 Wrapped Up!

Reviewing the last 365

By essameyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Top 10

I am a lover of reflection!

Anything relating to the assessment, deconstruction, compartmentalising, analysis, and all-round making-sense-of self, 9/10 I am involved. As 2020 draws to a close, I thought to reflect on 10 random round-up questions I found on Google to assess the year and to use as encouragement moving forward:

1. What is the most important lesson you learned this year?

To remain steadfast in my foundation - in other words, stay true to yourself. My identity is rooted in, and influenced by, my faith, values and principles, which has a great impact on how I do life. In the face of this year's hardships, and all of which 2020 had ushered us into, my foundation became a beacon to my hope and perseverance which carried me through.

2. What challenges did you overcome?

The first half of this year presented a whole heap of challenges I had to learn to overcome. Mentally I was still carrying a lot of baggage and hurt from the previous year, that I didn't even catch myself not present in the present, leading to a lack of direction and hopeless living. I overcame this by seeking solicited support and tuning my energy to the things that kept me active in the wake of lockdown - including blogging!

3. What are you the most proud of this year?

Completing a half marathon! Yo - this was definitely a favourite achievement for me that I did not shout about enough. It was awalys my intentions to run a marathon by the age of 25, though I never thought I’d be disciplined enough to actually do it. I'm not the most active person and get away with the bare minimum - gym 2-3 times a week (and that's in a good week), green smoothies to balance out the junk etc. But when the gyms closed due to lockdown, I set out the challenge to run 5ks in my local park which then turned into 10ks, and one random afternoon I just happened to find myself determined to run the full 21km in under 2.5 hours :)

4. What did you learn about yourself?

I'm not as perfect as I convinced myself to be. I've always been so focused on being better and doing better that I saw a rise of pride, self-righteousness and a focus on works > fruit. Being able to g-check myself when my reality was exposed was I comfortable, but required. I now have a new focus for the year ahead.

5. How did you live by your core values?

I returned to my source. I reminded myself of the root of my identity, who I do life for, what the most important things were to me and kept focused on the life-end goal.

6. What was the best decision you took?

Obtaining a new professional qualification before I left my former job. You can never have too much knowledge of something, and this will continue to support my career progression, so I'm pleased to have taken this opportunity when it was made available to me before it was too late!

7. How are you different than a year ago?

This time last year was probably the worst time of my life. A year later, I'm a lot more hopeful, I'm at peace and have achieved so much in the past 12 months. Go you, girl x

8. Who or what had the biggest impact on your life this year?

It's undeniable that COVID-19 impacted *almost* the entire world, whether directly or indirectly. I'm pleased that its impact was more of a positive one for me as it freed up more time, space and presented so many opportunities for me take advantage of.

As always, my love and thoughts to those who have struggled and/or have been at a lost this year in any way x

9. What did you let go of?

The habit of trying to make sense of everything and living in my head. Albeit a more recent decision, I am adamant to continue into the new year with at least one load less of trying to reason the details of everything that happens in my life - each day has enough concerns of its own.

And finally..

10. What was the best compliment you received?

In reference to my awesomeness - "your jazz is strong"

On that note - Happy New Years! 🥳

Love,

humanity
1

About the Creator

essamey

A self-help guide for people who understand Black Twitter references.

Navigating love, relationships, faith & lifestyle.

IG: es_journal

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.