Humans logo

Mr. Cee And Mrs. Cee - Day 01.

Hypothetical Questions For A Better World

By Rajaroy Joseph AlphonsePublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 5 min read
Like

Mrs. Cee: You've been sitting in the same place since morning.

Mr. Cee: Sorry?

Mrs. Cee: Are you OK?

Mr. Cee: I'm just worried about kids.

Mrs. Cee: Stop worrying. Junior Cee has started business school. Girl Cee is top in her class. They're doing well. Stop worrying about them.

Mr. Cee: I'm not talking about our kids. 'thinking about the kids in general, especially from those poorer countries.

Mrs. Cee: What about them?

Mr. Cee:: Don't you think something's really wrong around us?

The tea kettle whistles like a distant howling wolf.

Mrs. Cee: Be right back.

Minutes later she offers him a mug of tea and sits next to him.

Mrs. Cee: So what's wrong around us?

Mr. Cee: I don't wanna bore you. Let's talk about something else.

Mrs. Cee: Actually I wanna hear it. Go ahead.

Mr. Cee: I've been thinking, not all kids have the same opportunity, it's not fair, ain't it?

Mrs. Cee: I know. If only there was a way to change everything, from scratch.

Mr. Cee:: Actually there are several ways to fix the problems.

Mrs. Cee: I'm all ears.

Mr. Cee: I don't know how to put in words. But lemme try. Well, what do you think about Amazon, just for example?

Mrs. Cee: What has that to do with kids?

Mr. Cee: Not related to kids. That's how my thought flows. Maybe we'll come to the kids part later. But, what do you think about Amazon?

Mrs. Cee: What about it? I use it almost everyday.

Mr. Cee: Lemme ask you a hypothetical question. OK? I have nothing against Amazon. They've made my life better. No doubt about it. This is just a hypothetical question.

Mrs. Cee: Shoot it Amigo. And stop saying 'hypothetical' all the time.

Mr. Cee: Pretend that someone finds a flaw in the Amazon's systems which has been there since its origin. The flaw is due to genuine negligence. So this may lead to Amazon being pushed to return a huge sum of, say, 200 Billion dollars in total, to its customers all over the world. What will Amazon do? Will they accept their mistake and pay a 200 Billion dollars?

Mrs. Cee: But their net worth is around 300Billion. You're talking about two thirds of their business.

Mr. Cee: Yes. But it's more of a moral question. What will they do?

Mrs. Cee: I don't know. They must give it back. That would be the right thing to do. But it's lot of money, you know?

Mr. Cee: That's exactly my point. 'That's the right thing to do BUT it's a lot of money'. Remember that. Lemme ask you something else.

Mrs. Cee: Hmm. Shoot it. I'm ready.

Mr. Cee:: I have nothing against Obama.

Mrs. Cee: Wow! Wow! Don't you dare do that against my man.

Mr. Cee: That's why. That's exactly why I'm choosing him so that you can understand the gravitas. He is a very inspiring person. No doubt about it. This is just a hypothetical, sorry, pretend question.

Mrs. Cee: Okay. What's it?

Mr. Cee: Pretend that Obama had committed a mass murder during his governance, and nobody knows about it yet, even after all these years. But some random journalist finds some evidence. The evidence is so straight forward that if released to public Obama will be proven guilty without a single doubt. However nobody knows about it yet, except for that one journalist. But then let's say, Obama and his close party members come to know about it. What will they do? Will they allow the journalist to go ahead and release the evidence? 'cos it'll jeopardize not only his name, but the entire country will go haywire.

Mrs. Cee: It's a moral dilemma. Doing the right thing is one thing. But it may end up having repurcussions, you know? May be for the greater good, they may bury it? I don't know. Just guessing. But I think Obama will not do that. I think he may admit to it and make the right choice.

Mr. Cee: You know what? Lemme put it differently. I have nothing against you. I don't judge you OK? Pretend that you're a really nice person.

Mrs. Cee: Am I not? OK. I'll pretend. Whatever.

Mr. Cee: Listen. At least that is what your friends and family are presuming about you, in good hope. So let's say, you wake up tomorrow morning and realize that you've killed someone the previous night, while drunk. However the evidence has already been destroyed by some random act of a miracle. Nobody in the world is going to find out about it anymore. What will you do? Will you voluntarily plead guilty?

Mrs. Cee: I will. Hmm, I don't know dear. I think I will or will I not, I don't know. But it's interesting to think about it.

Mr. Cee: If the answer to the above three questions is 'yes', then the world is going in the right direction.

Mrs. Cee: What is the answer is 'not yes'?

Mr. Cee: Then it's high time we think about a bigger question, 'As a humanity, where did we go wrong?'.

Mrs. Cee: But that's how the world has always been dear, ain't it?

Mr. Cee: I know. But what if we could change?

Mrs. Cee: Change how?

Mr. Cee: By making right decisions.

Mrs. Cee: Right decision how?

Mr. Cee: Well, as a starter, let's say, 'by not taking too much power'. There are lot of ambitious people in this world. But at some point they inadvertently become power hungry, don't you think?

Mrs. Cee: I don't think you can generalize it upon everyone. Maybe a few.

Mr. Cee: Just a theory baby.

Mrs. Cee: OK. Tell me. What then?

Mr. Cee: You're growing into a super power. That's perfectly fine. Good for you. But why can't you also be grounded in morality at the same time? Like, 'If something turns out vile due to YOUR mistakes, don't cover your tracks, because it may probably save you, but it may affect someone else's life'. I mean, growing is alright. But I think you must take responsibility when something goes wrong, don't you think?

Mrs. Cee: I don't think that's how the world works. But it'll be good if everyone stays true to their heart. Anyway, I'm gonna take a nap now. Stop worrying too much about things that you can't change.

Mr. Cee: I can't help it. I'm always thinking along those lines. But enough for today.

Mrs. Cee is already snoring in the sofa.

Mr. Cee: I hate you.

Mrs. Cee: I hate you too.

Mr. Cee smiles and kisses her.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Rajaroy Joseph Alphonse

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.