Humans logo

Mon Tresor (My Treasure)

Section 3

By Alexandra FPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
from travel weekly.com, view of Marseille

Oh, it's funny. The first time I encounter men who have business dealings with me, they don't expect a woman.

The first time I met with my coachman, he asked for a Mr. Laviolettem assuming that the letter he received from me must have been misspelled. I came out of my study/library.

"It's Ms. Laviolette. How do you do?"

He looked surprised, then finally suppressed it and shook my hand.

"Please sit down." I said, motioning to a chair I kept opposite my desk that had a pretty side table next to it for snacking.

"Would you like anything? Oh, I assure you, I'm as well-mannered as any male employer. This is to be a proper interview, after all."

I was unsuccessfully trying not to grin at his unease with my being a woman.

"Let me explain how a woman, without being widowed, came to have her own property. My father's brother was disinherited my his parents on the bases of some dishonest dealings, the like of which I sill not repeat to you. He also never had any male heirs. Neither did my father. Does this suffice?"

He simply nodded his head, still stupefied.

"Oh, I assure you that this is a fully functional household, though simply run direclty by me. You see, I used to be a maid and I already kow how to cook. If I went really fine dining, there are the cafes and restaurants in Marseille for that. My household has all it needs in me to function, save for a coachman, and that's where you come in."

He simply nodded.

"Why do you not have a staff?" he asked.

"I can trust myself to run a household because I was taught how to run one by my mother, who has a lady's maid, and I saw how one was properly run when I was a maid. I also prefer to see the face of who I amdealing with myself, which is why I answer the door. I can study their physionomy and don't have to get a secondhand account from a butler."

He nodded again, looking parched and finally noticing a glass of water I inevitably keep on the side table when I'm expecting someone. He drank it happily, but still with the tact to realize he was drinking in front of a lady.

"There is one final speech I realize I must give you. If you are not willing to work for a woman, please do not do so. I will simply find a coachman who is.

He nodded and looked down in thought.

He finally looked up. "I have no problem with it."

I nodded.

Showing him to the stables, I asked, "Now, do you hve your own house, or will you be living here?"

"I'm rooming with someone, but he seems anxious for me to leave-"

"Ah. Say no more."

I motioned for him to follow me

"Here are the servants' quarters. You'll find the outhouse at the far corner, next to that tree."

He nodded.

"You can bring your things by as soon as possible and choose whatever room in the male quarters suits you."

He arrived later that same day with his roommate helping him bring his belongings in.

"Here are the keys to the front door the servants' quarters, to the men's quarters, and your room locks from inside should you feel the need."

He nodded into a slight bow and said, "Thank you."

"Oh! And before I forget, here is a printing of all the dreadful contractual things I didn't mention in the interview. It tells you your rights under the contract, my rights under it and your obligations under it. If you have any questions after having read it, please do not hesitate to ask. I feel it's best to have these things written out so people know where they stand."

He sort of smiled and nodded, taking the document and heading into the servants' quarters.

"Oh! And one last thing! Please do tour the entire servants' quarters and it there's something lacking, let me know and we'll go into town and fetch it."

He smiled, trying not to laugh at all my last-minute reminders.

The very first time it happened was at a bank. I walked in and as I happened to be standing next to a man, they assumed that they were addressing him instead of me.

"It's Ms. Laviolette," I said in the most calm tone I could muster.

The teller looked insanely shocked, then regained his composure.

From then on, I realized what kind of treatment I'd get and that I also had to be on the arm of, or at least with, a man to be considered proper in public.

That was why it was so convenient to have a coachman. I didn't mind the added expense of paying for his dinner as well. I would slip him the money under the table so he could pay.

After the first dinner at which we did this, I said to him, "You're very convenient to have around."

He laughed and tipped his hat at me.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Alexandra F

I write to give myself an adventure & if it's fun perhaps you will enjoy it too.

This is the link to my journalistic blog: https://www.tumblr.com/blog/franklynews

I only make money if you contribute, so please click the bottom button. Thanks!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.