Humans logo

"Memory Box"

Create a memory today—for tomorrow.

By Julia WCPublished 5 years ago 6 min read
Like
My Mama and Daddy in High School

Life is not quite as perfect as social media enthusiasts make it out to appear (yes, Instagram and Pinterest are my two favorite sites).

Foodies can learn how to make some of the most delectable simply divine dishes. Some of my favorites are the desserts, oh my yummmmmmmmy. And what about those healthy "bowls." Not soup bowls. Oh no, "smoothie bowls" that look amazing with fruit (obviously frozen to look so frosty delicious) that line ups perfectly around the edges or in a straight line. What about those "vegan plant bowls"—oh my heart. I almost go vegan when looking at the bowl pictures. They even give you the ingredients and the recipe.

Then after looking at all the pictures, jotting down the recipe and keeping the picture right in front of you as you attempt this feat of "bowl" creation... it rarely, if ever, looks like the pictures on Instagram you so love and follow like a religion. Then, after laughing at your own bowl, you move on. The key is to try and try again. AND make sure you have a team of people around to assist with a camera/light crew. :)

Nevertheless, we continue our never-ending journey of Instagram or Pinterest trends. And we enjoy it. We create boards with dreams of mimicking that glorious photo. Yet, once the picture is gone and the experience over, we forget and move on to the next exciting adventure—for example, "exercise enthusiast," but no worries, this too shall pass.

There are some things in life, however, that we can't and should not forget. Yet trying to picture them (without the help of social media) is challenging. Facebook does a wonderful job of bringing up "Friendiversaries," "Year End" memories, or your most like post.

However, when life hits us from time to time, and there is no social media that fulfills our pain or sorrow... we wish we had that moment back with whomever to discuss all the good times (and some not so good times too).

Life hit hard a few months ago. That led me to the title of this short story "Memory Box." My mama passed away unexpectedly, and yet, her passing was peaceful and some amazing news; she never had any disease. It was, obviously, as some call it, her time to depart this planet and move to heavens home (that is what I call it). There was no Instagram of pictures. Nothing on Facebook that could help me deal with memories I so desperately wanted to recall. It is amazing how much we want to recall time when someone moves from here to there.

Then a pivotal moment came... I was missing her so deeply that when we started cleaning out her home, photos started surfacing of her as a baby, child, adolescent, and young adult. Addresses of family I did not even know about and schools in my hometown where she lived and my daddy lived. The University of South Carolina where she attended college, too, and she did not like to be there LOL, according to the letters (which was yet another memory box feature).

Gathering these powerful tools of memory launched the most amazing healing. Let me qualify that. DEEP HEALING into parts of my heart and soul that I never knew existed. Seeing her pictures and the courtship of my dad and mama was priceless. (Pause. Tears are flowing as this is being written.)

Once these items were somewhat organized (in a messy kinda way), I was able to track some of their steps through addresses and found the hospitals they were both born. So, off I went on a mini Atlanta, GA road trip. Thank the good Lord for GPS and Siri telling me where to turn.

It was possibly one of the most endearing, monumental moments that has changed my life forever. It brought me to a deeper understanding of my own legacy/heritage, and who I look like or behave like in some ways. It led me to tears engulfed in a smile of wonderment and time of reference, if you will, for my own life and the life of my own three kids.

Thus, the "Memory Box" was created.

  • A Memory Box to me is something we create (off line and online—might I add) for those who were here yesterday, those who are here today, and for those who will arrive tomorrow. To recount, revive, recall, and recognize experiences, faces, and fame of loved ones. It is almost like a reminder of where we were and where we are today with the always mounting question of what lays ahead.

Memory is defined as:

The mental capacity or faculty of retaining and reviving facts, events, impressions, or of recalling or recognizing previous experiences. Remembering the reputation of a person or thing, especially after death; fame.
Synonymsfor Memory are: Thought, remembrance, recollection, mind, consciousness, picture, image, fantasy, reminder, memoir, vision, reflection, mindfulness, recall, awareness, reminiscence, cognizance, recapture, flashback, recognition.

Some might not want to go back and remember anything due to so much pain that was caused, and all of us on this Earth should understand that. However, WE CAN MAKE OUR OWN MEMORIES TODAY for TOMORROW.

How?

Be intentional about your life TODAY. Create a "Memory Box" that brings joy, smiles, and a few tears.

  1. Build your own memory board: Take "time" to remember and create memories. Ask yourself. "What do I want to leave in a Memory Box for my family or friends?" Then fulfill that moment. Like Nike says, "Just do it!" If it is a text to someone you miss, TEXT IT. If it is a memory about someone you miss or has passed away, journal it. Be intentional. You know how Pinterest has those boards we can build? That is what this is like. Build your board.
  2. Find and TAKE pictures: Look from those photos that bring happy memories. Collect the one's you can and make a photo book. Keep them in one location, and if possible, organize for future use. OR take pictures with your cellphones. There is absolutely no reason NOT to take pictures. And if we are with someone and our phone dies, ask them to text or drop the pictures to your phone.
  3. JOURNAL your experiences: I just started a notebook of all the things that I remember of my parents. Their sayings (good and some funny), remember it is MY MEMORY BOX. :) This article is a type of journal. SIDE NOTE: Follow on Instagram people who journal. WOW! It will blow your mind to see all the creative ways and tools there are today to journal. Then set off into Journal Land and see where it takes you.
  4. CREATE memory gifts: Use an online tool to create mini picture books and you can add your journal notes to the pictures to GIVE AS holiday gifts. I gave my daughter an ornament of my mom when she was three years old. She loved it and that will hang on her tree and for her children to come. Think outside your normal box. Use Instagram or Pinterest to search for creative ways to build your own "Memory Box."

In closing, thank you for reading this article, and as you build your own "Memory Box," follow me on Instagram @MoxiEwomen and Pinterest @SistersFeet. HECK YES! Let's grow a community of "Memory Box" creators, and change our world and the world to follow after us through the eyes of what WE SEE and experience. Blessings to you all and "HAPPY MEMORY BOX."

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.