Humans logo

Meaning of Life

Why are we here? - ChatGPT knows

By Lana V LynxPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
1
Meaning of Life
Photo by Greg Rakozy on Unsplash

As someone who spent most of her life in higher education (both as a student and a teacher) and experienced both totalitarian and democratic systems of state rule, I had been thinking about the meaning of life a lot, asking myself big questions like, "Why am I here? Why are all other people here? Is there any sense in all of this, in our time on the planet Earth?" all my life, starting as a child born during the Cold War.

Growing up in the Soviet Union, I dreamed of freedom and opportunity to travel and go wherever I wanted and do what I thought would be good for me and the people I cared about. When I achieved that ability through education and strive in my early 30s, I decided to stay in education because teaching was my passion and one of the things I was good at, according to most student evaluations. About seven years ago, when I was writing a teaching philosophy statement for my current job, it struck me that I resolved the meaning of life question for myself. Here is what I wrote then:

"I believe my mission in life is to contribute to betterment of humans, both as individuals and members of a society, by being their guide in the ocean of knowledge, helping them think critically and reflect on their own knowledge and life experience, and improving their life through communication."

Pretty good, ah? I'm quite pleased with this statement even today, and it is not just words for me. I am trying to live those words in my real life. I can also add that in terms of my personal, rather than professional, fulfillment, I am a mother of a wonderful, caring, empathetic and socially and politically aware young man whom I am proud to claim as my legacy and continuation of my genetic line. So, I am contributing to betterment of humanity on two fronts: as an educator and as a mother to a human who will be surely better than me.

But it took me years of education, experience, and self-reflection to arrive at this point, which in everyday language can be equated with wisdom. And here comes the Chat Bot with its answer to the meaning of life question:

"The meaning of life is a question that has been asked by philosophers, theologians, and individuals throughout history and remains a subject of ongoing debate and discussion. There is no universally agreed upon answer, as the meaning of life is subjective and may differ from person to person based on their individual experiences, beliefs, and values.

For some, the meaning of life may be found in a personal relationship with a deity, spiritual practice, or religious beliefs. For others, it may be found in relationships with family and friends, pursuit of personal goals and ambitions, or a commitment to a cause or movement.

Others may find meaning in the simple pleasures and experiences of daily life, such as spending time in nature, engaging in hobbies and interests, or experiencing new and exciting things. Some may see the meaning of life as a journey of self-discovery and personal growth, constantly striving to become the best version of themselves.

Ultimately, the meaning of life is a deeply personal and subjective concept, shaped by individual experiences, beliefs, and values. While it is impossible to determine an objective meaning of life that applies to everyone, individuals can find their own sense of purpose and fulfillment by exploring their own unique paths and experiences."

Everything the great human thinkers contemplated about and many people arrived at through their own personal journeys and growth, in four short paragraphs, generated in less than 20 seconds. I guess we teachers can pack our bags and leave now.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Lana V Lynx

Avid reader and occasional writer of satire and short fiction. For my own sanity and security, I write under a pen name. My books: Moscow Calling - 2017 and President & Psychiatrist

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.