Humans logo

Me, Myself and I.

Do I deserve more than others?

By Pierre de ManPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like
Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash

Me, Me, Me.

We all know it or we know “them”. Maybe we ourselves are like it. Everything is revolving around ourselves.

I must admit, that I sometimes am like that also. And I am sure that you are the same at some time or point in your life. It can be something small, but it’s in all of us. It’s our nature.

Why do I bring this up? Let me go through my mind and why I wanted to get this out of my system. And I hope that people start thinking about what they do.

Vaccinations.

Here in The Netherlands, the vaccination against the COVID-19 is was in progress. They had set up rules and guidelines for who will be vaccinated first and who next. But no matter who will go first, there is always a group of people that say that they should go first. They are more vulnerable. More needed for society, more important. No matter which way you turn or who goes first.

I belong to the high-risk group. Because of my health condition. Some people around me were telling me to maybe contact the organization behind the whole vaccination process and try to get it now already. But in the news and politics, they are already mentioning that it has no use. You just have to wait your turn. And if some heard about someone who was able to go first, then they are under fire.

Everyone that has a health condition and is “at-risk” was getting an invitation letter and was asked to make an appointment. I also would get this letter. After I had received it I had made my appointment.

Jumping The Queue.

Now, I am also a member of a Facebook group member, with people who have the same condition or maybe worse, than what I have. To my surprise, a single person had mentioned that she/he, already had made an appointment, even she/he did not receive the invitational letter yet. And that person was telling the group, how it was done. It was done by cheating/lying.

Before you could make the appointment, you have to answer some questions. One of the questions was if you had received the invitation letter. According to that person, you just say YES. But in fact, this is not true. But this way, that person was able to make the appointment.

They are forgetting one thing. When you go to the location, you NEED to bring and show the invitation letter.

But think about it. This is the same as in the shop. You had queue up to pay and someone jumps the queue. Do you like that? Of course not.

This is the same. Maybe some people should go before you. But you had taken their place in line and now they need to wait even longer. And why do you think that you should go ahead? Do you think you are better? Do you think you need it more? How would you feel if this would happen to you?

The booster shots.

At this moment, they are busy inviting people for their booster shots. And again, people are trying to jump the queue.

Also for the booster shot, you need to wait for your turn. This time they are doing it by year. So the oldest go first. But again, you need to make an appointment through the website. After making this appointment, you will receive a confirmation email. This you need to bring when you have your appointment.

What some people were doing was, they just went to the location where they are giving the booster shots. Without that confirmation email. Once they enter the location, they were asked for their confirmation. If you could not show this, they would ask you to leave and make the appointment online. And then they got angry because they were rejected.

Why should they get angry? There are rules and everyone needs to follow them. Why do you think you are exempted from those rules? Why do you think you are more important?

Let us be fair to each other and let's play it by the rules.

There Is A Saying.

I am sure, we all have heard it at least once in our lives. “Do onto others what you want others to do to you.”. In other words, treat people the way you want them to treat you. There is also a bible verse that says the same thing.

“Do to others as you would have them do to you.”

Luke 6:31 (NIV)

Even before I became a Christian, we were already told this. And it is something that stuck with me. And I always tried my best. In the long run, you could see that this was paying off. If you treated people well, then (some) would also treat you well.

It’s maybe the same as karma. What goes around, comes around. You treat people badly, bad things will happen to you too. So if we keep everything to ourselves, or think that we deserve more or we think we are better, others will do the same. And where will this end?

We will end up in a world where everyone is only thinking about themselves. A very selfish world. You can see around you, that with each new generation, “me, myself, and I” is getting more. Because each previous generation is teaching their children to stand up for themselves. Me first, then the rest. Think about yourself first.

Closing.

I don’t want to sound like a saint. I am not holier than the rest. I myself am also guilty sometimes of thinking of myself first. Or think of ways that I can profit more than others. I almost want to say that it is in our blood. But this is not true. We are taught to think like this. And that is a pity. At one point people will start to suffer, because of this.

We need to learn again that it is not always about “me”. It should be about “us”. We need to learn to also care about the people around us.

It is an idyllic thought or wish, and something that will not happen overnight. But I hope that in the long run, we can create an “ideal” world. A world where we care for each other. Think of others before yourself.

I hope and pray, that one day, this will become true. And I hope and pray that you will join me in this.

Take care and stay safe.

If you would like to read more from me, then check out my profile here. Or go to my website/blog to know more about me.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Pierre de Man

Husband, Father, Heart Patient, Christian, Blogger on pierredeman.nl. Through writing I can process what is going on in my life and get it out of my system.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.