Humans logo

Me & my dreaming (sung to the tune of 'Me & My Shadow)

Foolish madness or brilliant magic

By Soleira GreenPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
3
The Omaze £3M home

Earlier this year Facebook kept putting in front of me an ad for Omaze, an opportunity to win a £3M home in Devon, UK. "Your dream home!", shouted the magic fairy that sits on my shoulder cheering me onwards in life. So ... because one ignores their shoulder fairy at their peril and despite not being a gambler in any way shape or form ... on line I went to press pay on the £25 entry fee. WHAT! I have never ever done anything like that before. But you know, the moment I did it I felt abundant in ways I hadn't before. As if, whether I won the house or not, I had broken through some kind of barrier around money.

Yesterday, about 6 months on from that precipitous moment, my husband and I started talking about our next steps in life and what our dream life might look like. I told him about the Omaze home, showed him the gallery tour and his face lit up. Just looking at it allowed us to dream a bigger life than we had just moments before. We saw ourselves with a breathtaking view of the sea, with friends coming to stay for extended periods of time where we would have amazing conversations about the universe and all things magical.

"BUT", I said to him, "the drawing for this home is random. How could we ever win." To which he replied with a sly grin [while my shoulder fairy erupted into copious amounts of swear words I didn't know she knew], "But you are magical and random is meaningless to you." [I married an awesome husband you see, so I've already won big time in life.]

Me & my awesome hubbie

Hmmmm, I know what he said was true because there are loads of magical occurrences in my life. How I moved from Canada to the US to the UK. How I met my amazing husband. The epiphanies that have shaped me into who I am today. I am in fact probably one of the most magical people alive today. Yet winning a £3m home still seemed quite daunting to me.

"Humans of New York. Humans of New York!", my shoulder fairy shouted in my ear. She was bouncing up and down with excitement now.

Oh yes, I recalled. Just this past week I read an amazing post by the Humans of New York guy about a lady who won a brownstone home against all the odds. To start the article off, she was quoted as saying "All I have to do is think real hard about something—and it happens. Been that way my entire life."

Could I do it? Should I do it? Is this foolish madness, a waste of good money ... or is this my good pal the universe pointing me to the wonder of our brilliant future life?

"YES!!!", shouted my shoulder fairy. "If you don't go for this, I'm leaving you forever."

Now shoulder fairies don't tend to leave you, so I knew this required some serious attention now. "Ok. Ok. Calm down. I'll do it." And with that she smiled and disappeared into the land that shoulder fairies go to when they're not pouring fairy dust in your ear.

So on line I went, once again, with my debit card in hand, to put another £50's worth of entries into winning this home. It felt good actually. As if the magical universe I lived in had been restored in me and another breakthrough achieved. Now don't get me wrong. While I am living as if I have already won this £3M home, I am also perfectly ok if I don't win it as I know it has already pointed me to what's next for my hubby and me. And that you see is where true magic lies. In between your dreams and your life, peeking at you, calling you forward into dreamlands that eventually become your reality. It's the way you wander the dreamlands that matters. It's the belief in a magical universe that guides you forward with signs and synchronicities, with synergy and shoulder fairies leaping up and down to guide you. It's you believing that there is more to life than your mind will have you allow. So me and my dreaming, we're walking along that bright and brilliant avenue to a life so wondrous that it defies logic and affirms magic in every way.

humanity
3

About the Creator

Soleira Green

I love writing & have written a book called 'The Genius Game' (one of 10 books currently published). I love empowering people to unleash their brilliance into the world. Discover more about me at https://www.soleiragreen.com/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.