Humans logo

Master Your Self-Care Sundays

Instagram Hashtag to Religious Obligation and I’m Here For It.

By SotiraPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Master Your Self-Care Sundays
Photo by Alisa Anton on Unsplash

Trying to schedule frequent beauty treatments can be time-consuming and costly. Working 5 days a week, managing life admin, kids, cooking, I don’t blame you for placing it on your non-essential list.

If you’re anything like me, you’ll leave the hairdresser to the very last minute, when your hair is in a desperate state. I can’t help you there, but I can try and help with some at-home beauty self-care ideas. These are things I do as part of my self-care Sunday routine without question every single week.

Light a Candle

By Hanna Balan on Unsplash

It’s so simple yet changes the mood and ambience in the room. It makes me feel boujee, relaxed and like I have my shit together. Aromatherapy and essential oil candles are also great and can help to calm the mind.

Run a Bath

By Maddi Bazzocco on Unsplash

Add some bubbles, who doesn’t love a bubble bath? Physically, baths remove dead skin and impurities, boosting the lymphatic system. Above all, they allow you to switch off from the world and be in the moment.

For showers, using oil leaves the skin feeling extremely nourished. It’s a feeling I can’t explain, it’s like food for the soul and skin. I use the very inexpensive BIODERMA Atoderm Body Cleanse.

Use a Facial Steamer

By Gaelle Marcel on Unsplash

Ok maybe that photo isn't the best example but you know what I'm getting at. Steaming carries a wealth of benefits. It’s great for hydrating the skin as well as blood circulation. If you’re strapped for time and cash, the most inexpensive way to nourish your skin is an at-home facial. I brought a cheap facial steamer from amazon years back for under £10. A bowl and a towel over your head work perfectly too. Not only is it great for skin care but it has been a godsend for pesky cold symptoms.

I follow up with a quick cleanse and then a mask which I leave on whilst doing other bits around the house. Steaming beforehand allows the pores to open, blackheads to loosen letting the mask penetrate the skin and work its magic.

Use a Hair Mask

By Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

Masks are often overlooked but the results are so worth it. Even a 10-minute weekly mask will work wonders and transform your hair. Cleansing your scalp and applying a hair mask will not only hydrate but also give your locks some life.

Adding in a massage will relieve tension from your scalp, a great natural remedy for headaches.

Declutter

By Sarah Brown on Unsplash

They say decluttering your space will declutter your mind. Not strictly beauty but you’ll still reap the benefits of a tidy space. I’ve turned what used to be my work desk, into a home for my plants and candles. My space feels like a sanctuary, making my self-care moments feel even more special.

Brew a Cup of Chai

By Miti on Unsplash

There are hundreds of different options when it comes to herbal teas. Each tea has a unique benefit that can be personalised to your needs. Camomile is a fantastic tea to accompany a wholesome Sunday. My go-to is turmeric tea. Packed with antioxidants and anti-inflammatories, it’s great for the skin.

Whatever you do, the importance of taking time for yourself, away from the world to recharge your batteries has never been more prominent. I often try to bring awareness whilst practising each of the above. It allows me the space to connect with myself and prepare my mind & body for the week ahead.

I hope this read has been beneficial, if anything allow it to remind you of the importance of carving time out of the week to take care of yourself. Even if it isn't using any of the above methods, a journey to discovery as to what works for will be fun!

advice
Like

About the Creator

Sotira

Beauty Product Developer, curly girl, and professional matcha drinker. I write about all of the above, helping you to find the best products on the market.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.