Humans logo

Loving My Husband

Loving Men the Way They Should Be Loved

By Elena DeCristinoPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

So, I have been approached by some that have asked me, why did you marry so young? The quick answer to that is simple. I married my best friend.

Erik and I have been together for four years and married for two. We’ve learned a lot about marriage even before we were married. We lived together for a year before getting married and we had to learn quickly about how to accept one another and learn to accept what we cannot change. I am in complete love with my husband and here’s why.

First of all, he’s my biggest supporter. I cannot tell you how many times I have NOT asked for his support—he just gives it. I have decided to pursue my degree in the medical field and his first response after telling him I wanted to go back was, “I know you can do anything you set your mind to.” Not, "no you can’t go to school because you have to work, or you can’t period."

Ladies appreciate a man who can and is willing to support your dreams. Although they support yours remember that he also has dreams of his own. Help him pursue his dream as well. Men like my husband love to see women strive for more than a job, but finding their career and passion is what attracts them most. Knowing what you want is not a transgression.

My husband is my provider. He is there for me financially, emotionally, and physically. When I need him, he comes running. If I need to cry because I had a hard day at work or my family are being jerks, he lends his shoulder. If I need books for school, or I just want the newest craft item he finds a way to give it to me.

Men like this are out there ladies. Every man has these traits. We as women tend to push these men away because we find their faults first. That’s not always the case but in most cases, when we find a good man we try to find what’s wrong with him. Why do we do that? We should be grateful that a man like this comes around. Thank the lucky stars that my husband came into my life when he did because I was going left and right with bad choices.

Never let a man dictate, scare, or change the person you are. My husband has never once asked me to be someone who I wasn’t. he knew that going into this relationship I was a certain type of person. One who would stick up for the little guy and not be afraid to give myself for someone else. He has never yelled at me, scared me, or physically or emotionally control me. I will never go down that road with a man because I know my worth. I know what I deserve.

Erik has will forever be my one and only. I cannot tell you how truly blessed and thankful I am to have a man like this in my life. He is compassionate, kind, generous, loving, supportive, and above all, he’s all mine. Even though at times he is a complete ass and I feel like ripping him to shreds at the end of the day I know that this is a man that will never betray me. He will never leave, never tear me down, nor will he ever let me be alone in the crazy world.

To those of you ladies out there who are searching, you’re getting close just remember to never lose yourself, or give any part of yourself up to a man. Remember that men like this are out there. They are waiting for you to be ready. Don’t take advantage of him because he deserves the best too. Be confident, courageous, but always be one step ahead.

marriage
Like

About the Creator

Elena DeCristino

Wife. Student. Writer. Colorado Native.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.