Humans logo

Listening is the best love language.

''People will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel" - Maya Angelou

By Alexis KingPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Listening is the best love language.
Photo by Matt Collamer on Unsplash

" You are like the flower that blooms"

Those were the words coming out of my neighbor a's mouth a few days ago me, it sparked the light inside of me that has been deem for a very long period. It always amazes me when strangers that don't know you or your life story are the ones that make you feel good on the inside. I overheard him and neighbor b that he is close with talking about me outside on his smoke break, of course, I eavesdrop on the conversation to listen in to what they were saying, what they don't know, what nobody knows is that I've been going through some very personal things so the words that were coming out of their mouths meant more to me than ANYTHING at that moment.

Neighbor b said that he started to develop an emotional connection with me because I asked him what kind of books did he like to read. A little back story on how all this came about? I became good neighbors with neighbor A as he talked to me about everything. How he grew up, where he grew up, his family and friends he even got a little personal with me and started to tell me things that you only tell the people you trust. During our conversations, I could tell just by listening that he has been through some things and what he loved the most? Books. He expressed to me that he hasn't read in decades and that he used to read all the time when he was younger and due to mental health a lot of things that he used to love went out the window and he lost himself.

Everybody all across the world has experienced some type of anxiety or depression it's normal because we all are humans and experience things. We might experience them differently from each other but we all go through it, the difference is though is that some of else has it every day and all day and could lead to things like suicide. There is one thing that I live by and it's if I could make the light shine just a little bit in someone's life, I would. If I can change the world starting with one person at a time I would and so that is what I did.

I heard him say to me that he liked the tv show the real and that his favorite was Loni Love, at that time she had just written a book that has been on the shelves for about maybe two in a half months now. I like to read myself and my favorite book store is Barnes and Noble so I went and the first person I thought about was him. I looked around for a bit and asked for help to find the book, the help was useful and I had the book in my hand ready to buy it. I took my time and bought a nice unique bag with wrapping paper and when I got home I wrote a letter to him as well telling him to stay strong and hold his head up because he was worth it and it was worth it for him to be here on earth that God needed him here and has him here for a reason. My note came from the heart and I'm glad he knew that.

When he opened the bag and saw both the book and the letter he told me that ”it was the best thing that anyone has ever bought him” and that I am the one that got him back into reading. He repeated that same thing to me earlier this week and that's when he told me. ” You are like the flower that blooms”

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.