Humans logo

Like Elliot: The Full Series

My first fiction series on Vocal and what I learned from the process.

By KBPublished 3 years ago Updated 12 months ago 3 min read
1
"Childhood Memories" by George Desarmes

Like Elliot

When beginning Vocal’s Summer Fiction Series, I had no idea what I was stepping into for the next month and a half.

I first decided to enter the SFS 1: Old Barn. With that, I created the fiction short story called “Like Elliot.”

Embodying the important relationships that one establishes in childhood, the story is told from the perspective of the narrator, Lennie. In words of admiration and bittersweet memories, she describes her childhood friend, Elliot.

Luckily enough, this story was chosen to be exhibited on the Vocal Top Stories page. This was exciting for me, as it was my first fiction piece to make it up there and be read by so many people.

I knew the story wasn’t complete.

And so, I challenged myself to enter each contest of the summer series with a new chapter of “Like Elliot.”

Part 2: The Death By Chocolate Challenge

This story goes deeper into Lennie’s memory, picking out the vulnerabilities she and Elliot shared. That is, until she stumbles upon more pieces of her past, and faces what she left behind so many years ago.

Part 3: Brown Paper Box

Lennie is reintroduced to someone she thought she knew before...but is forced to revisit that narrative. However, this person is tied tighter to her than she had initially thought.

Part 4: Golden Summer

Uncovering lost answers in a letter leads Lennie to more questions. Now more than ever her feelings and worries that have been pushed down for years are resurfacing. But now with something tangible, will it lead her closer to closure?

https://vocal.media/fiction/like-elliot-part-4

Part 5: Raging Bull

Lennie decides to stay in town for longer than she initially planned. Now, two things are holding her back: a newfound relationship and a clue to Elliot’s disappearance. While Lennie goes further into what she understood happened as a 7-year-old, she is faced with new discoveries.

https://vocal.media/fiction/like-elliot-part-5

Part 6: Green Light

Ultimately deciding to allow someone else in, Lennie drags Parker in to help her scrabble through the pages Elliot left behind. Being vulnerable pays off for once. Hope and love emerge.

https://vocal.media/fiction/like-elliot-part-6

Part 7: Long Thaw

The trip. Blindly leaving their hometown, Lennie and Parker begin a journey that may lead them nowhere. However, even if it does bring them on a wild goose chase, will it have been worth it?

https://vocal.media/fiction/like-elliot-part-7

Part 8: Pear Tree

The final chapter to “Like Elliot.” With a million questions racing through her mind, will Lennie find the answers she came looking for? Or will the missing years forever be a void?

https://vocal.media/fiction/like-elliot-part-8-ncnzt403uo

What I Learned

Vocal has become a place where I can practice my writing without any judgment. The Summer Fiction Series allowed me to think more creatively and push the past boundaries that I have subconsciously given myself.

I am someone who tends to look back at my writing and pull it apart, thinking of what I would do differently next time. This helps me in my reflection process but also doesn’t allow me the time to pick out the good pieces I like in my work. And although it isn’t perfect, by creating a goal like this series allowed me to push through and continue writing for practice and enjoyment. Not everything has to be perfect, and what I dislike about my story can be someone else’s favorite part.

As I have officially wrapped up my first published series, I can take away new knowledge on goal setting, pushing my boundaries, and accepting all challenges that I may come into when writing. The community on Vocal allows me to practice without pressure, and I will continue to encourage that safe space with the writers around me.

If you liked this series and reflection on the piece, leave me a like or a follow down below. I really appreciate it!

advice
1

About the Creator

KB

A snippet of life. Some real, some not. Thanks for reading!

https://vocal.media/vocal-plus?via=kb

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.