Humans logo

Life Lessons from a Straight Shooter

Lesson 1: Not Everyone can Handle the Truth

By Sarah Morin McAuliffePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

The older I get the more I see people’s true colors, I’m not even sure if a truly “good” person even exists at all. Sometimes it really affects me. I want to see the good in everyone and I can, but then as time goes on the not so good surfaces and you are left to wonder if the “good” is good enough?! So you weigh things out and try to explain why a person might be this way or that.. what/who helped create these “bad” parts? Can you help them? Can you support them? Take their abuse? Love them anyway???

From what I understand some people just walk away at the first sign of imbalance, having no faith in the human race I assume. Maybe they are right! Typically I stay and try to “help,” or whatever it is I think I am doing. I don’t even know sometimes. I’m starting to think these walkers have the right idea. I think it's starting to be too much for me. I mean as much faith as I have in myself and in the universe/God/whatever you want to call it, I can’t wish away another’s issues. Hell, I have a hard enough time just looking at my own sometimes. But I do!!

Looking within and calling myself out I have found is the best therapy. So I call others out and I try to make them see themselves, the way that others see them. I don’t do this to be mean or judgmental in anyway, I do it because how can any of us grow if we don’t face our shit?!? I don’t judge anyone aside from myself and even then I have to stop myself sometimes.

Some people truly appreciate this quality while others would rather live in their fake world of “perfection” or delusion in most cases. So should I change myself to make others more comfortable or is the light I shine on those that are ready to listen/hear more important? Well no one ever got anywhere in life without getting uncomfortable! At some point in order to grow we need to get uncomfortable, just like everything else in nature. We are no more and no less.

The sad thing is is that even if you have the best of intentions people can still break your heart, because of their own jealousy, insecurity, etc… Trying so hard to help others can truly take its toll. So last night I cried and I felt sorry for myself, which really pisses me off. It took a really special person to explain to me that it wasn’t about me at all, but about the other people I was trying to “help,” they weren’t ready to hear what I had to say, they aren’t ready to get uncomfortable quite yet. I need to remember this lesson, don’t take it personal and maybe don’t make it personal either. Gauge your audience so to speak. However I will continue to plant a seed when I can tell someone really needs that gentle push that says, “none of us are perfect and thats okay!”

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.