Humans logo

Life Lesson

Ask yourself why, how, and other questions because you can be the voice of a change.

By Chyann JanePublished 6 years ago 7 min read
Like

People talk about the temporary things in life all the time, but what about the things that are constant? Or the things that decipher us from children to adults? Somethings are never discussed until we get to be a certain age, but why? These lessons we learn in life are meant to lead us to the destination in which Earth believes is right for us. But sometimes we need to take a second to take in all the lessons and just see what makes us different then others in this world that is trying to uniform us. The questions and theories we discuss, and don’t discuss, lead us to the lessons we’re supposed to learn growing up, but what happens if we miss one along the road? What’s in store for us then?

I’m not here to judge, nor is anyone else for that matter, but what is the ultimate lesson from life for some? Getting to know hundreds of people around Michigan, and quite a few from around the world, has truly opened my eyes and views on life and the reasoning for being here. Many may not agree on everything I have to say, nor do I blame them, even I question myself sometimes. In all honesty, we all should be questioning ourselves sometimes in the actions we make and even the way we say things. I’m not writing this for you to judge me, or others, but to maybe stop and question yourself and the path you are following. Whether with God, a spiritual being, Buddha, etc. But I want you to ask yourself why, and is it for yourself? I’ll even leave my email for people at the end of this story to talk and discuss theories or anything wishing to expand one's mind about another path.

I just want to first note that I don’t walk in the shoes of one who believes in a God, but a form of a spiritual being. Although I am not here to judge one on the path they have chosen or why they have chosen this path. I have studied many ways of life and gotten to know people with all different backgrounds and relationships with themselves and others. In all honesty it was the best thing I could do for myself and even some of the people I have come in contact with in the past.

My journey started when I was 10. What started it all was a tragedy some say when I tell them the story, but for me, it was an awakening. I remember being heartbroken at 10 years old when my parents confessed to me that the reason I wasn’t allowed back at our Lutheran church was because of the colors I decided to wear. I was only a child and because I wouldn’t wear pink my teacher didn’t want me to be a bad role model for the others. Until the past couple months, I still questioned that decision the teacher made and why it had to be me who the example was. But 11 years later it has truly made me the woman I am and why I am so open to anyone and everyone on the path they decide to walk.

For the next couple years, I questioned a lot of things about how the world worked and how people made the decisions we do. Whether it be how we talk, or treat someone, even how people could believe some of the things they do or do the things they do. I’ve investigated religions all over the world, and when I was in college, I branched out to people who were different from myself to hear their lifestyles, and why they chose the things the way they did. I received answers that sometimes blew my mind, made me cry, anger even filled me sometimes, but one thing was always there in my heart I just wanted to hear more. I was always a curious child who just asked why and wanted more then just the answer and now I realize that maybe there isn’t always one but maybe we tell ourselves there is to comfort ourselves.

I am still quite young, and I have so much to learn in my life and so many lessons to teach myself and the child that I am bearing and am getting around to bring into this world. As I sit typing this, that little note sits at the back of my head that reminds me what I used to tell myself as I kid. I never wanted to bring a child into this world. I didn’t have all the answers I was looking for and didn’t know if I could truly protect another human from things I went through or heard from others. But I sit here now with the knowledge that hundreds of other people has informed of and I remember that everyone’s story is different, everyone’s path is not set for them and can be changed at any second. Just meeting one person can change your life. On the path I have chosen I have met many people who have directed my paths in a million ways and I always have a crossroad when least expected, but my decisions are what make my path unique.

If you were to close your eyes right now, what would you see? Would it be the life you’re living or the millions of things you wish you could change? If you inhaled everything in at this moment what would you smell? If you reached out right in front of you, past the technology what would you feel and see? Are you happy with the answers you told yourself? Write them down, make an entry in a journal from this. Give a reaction to your life decisions because you’ve always been the one in complete control of your life.

I was an addict. I’ve been an alcoholic. I’ve been abused. I’ve sought out a god I never really believed in, but now I am me. I am not a label. I am a human being in a world where the person I lay down in bed with next to me has dreams, feelings, hopes, and so much more. Where the human I open the door for at my post office has all those as well, even at 30 or 40 years old. Our older generations think we are failing, and we think the younger generations are failing. It’s a cycle that needs to be broken. They’re humans, they’re a soul, and they’re paths can always change.

The world can be a cruel place, but it is how we wish to see it, and those in it that can truly change it. Sometimes taking a second to think about these things really can show us, maybe not necessarily a thing to change, but something to work forward to in a way to make this world a better place of peace and true happiness, not just another fake smile on a face of someone drowning in their own thoughts. No matter the path someone chooses to walk, or whom they chose to follow, we are in this world to live together to move forward and prosper in life. Now look around you, look in the papers to tell me how it makes you feel. Tell the world how it makes you feel because your voice and your path counts. You can be the difference in a whole lineage that may develop a cure for cancer, or a means to end world hunger, but if we act from cruelty those people will never wish to share their knowledge with those whom they deem “unworthy” because we all deserve the best life we can receive.

Growing up my mother always told me this silly thing to live by,

“We all put our pants on one leg at a time, so why are we judging them when we are no better.”

I thought it was silly in high school because I wasn’t doing the judging, but everyone around me it was all they could do. In college I still saw, and even as an adult I see it, but in all reality, everyone is a soul, a universe per say, and the way you talk or what you say makes that universe react and maybe one day they just explode. They’re no longer a universe because everything just stopped rotating and for them life was not moving forward.

This lesson is one of character, it is one of humanity.

***

If you wish to discuss anything about life and your path or my own you are welcome to email me your story at [email protected]

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Chyann Jane

I am a young girl with an old soul looking to inspire others. I want to allow others to feel the emotion and influence them to make a difference in any way possible.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.