Humans logo

Letter to my readers

Dyslexia

By David F AndersonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Letter to my readers by David F Anderson

2021 is the first year of ever written anything to be published. I have no writing skills whatsoever. Right or Wrong was my first attempt at writing a book. Then I wrote a couple of short stories published in vocal media. Now my second book is out, The Boat Man; it is a family love story. I am writing my third book right now; it is titled Growing up dyslexia. I still am writing those short stories I enjoy writing them as well. I feel like I am writing to make up for the lost time I have done all in six months.

I have been happily married for more than 40 years. Have a wonderful family, five beautiful children 11 fantastic grandchildren. I have no writing experience before this, none at all. When I was in the eighth grade, I left school, and I could no longer take being made fun of no more. I suffer from dyslexia; reading and writing was a painful experience that I stayed away from all the time. Those early years in school left me so bitter. I stayed silent for 62 years.

As you read what I right understand, you will see mistakes; those mistakes are a part of me that had kept him hidden long enough. If 100% accuracy is what you are looking for in a book or a story, I am probably not the one you are going to want to read. I am not writing for money or fame; I am writing to take back my self-respect; it was stripped from me so many years ago. I am never going to be a Mark Twain or Hemingway, and that is OK with me. However, if you want to read a good story written from the heart, I think you will, enjoy it.

I've been in the construction business most of my life, and when work would slow down, I would drive a truck. Before I retired for medical reasons, I was a West Virginia licensed general building contractor who had a small construction company with seven employees. I made all my bids and took care of payroll. I ran the office entirely by myself. I refuse to allow dyslexia to define me in any way and still never told anybody except for my wife. My friends and family are going to read it just like you are right now. That's how much of a secret it was. I was ashamed that I couldn't do it.

Life wasn't always easy, and there were many obstacles, many of them. I told everyone in my children they could do anything they wanted to in this world. I certainly wasn't going to not live up to the exact expectations I wanted them. In my younger days, I carried a giant chip on my shoulder. I was angry at the world because I couldn't read and write, and at the same time, I didn't want them to know a damn thing. Six months ago, when I sat down at this computer, I discovered Microsoft Word 360 in a companion to go with it Grammarly.

The last few years before finding Microsoft Word 360 in Grammarly, my companion for reading and writing was my cell phone. My Samsung with my dictionary no when I turn to then I need to spell something. It hasn't always been easy, but what the hell whose life is right. Please judge the story; don't judge the writing. You don't like the story, tell me you don't like this story that I can understand. I just put on my big boy pants, and I can take the criticism. My dyslexia I have no control over that's beyond my reach, and it should be beyond your criticism also. Who knows, you keep reading all my stuff? I might even tell you someday why I started writing in the first place.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

David F Anderson

I have no writing experience and I have Dyslexia I am 61 years old.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.