Humans logo

Lane Switch

What did they say? New year, new city?

By Abby HoodPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1
Richmond at night photo by Me

Hello beautiful people, it’s been a while since I’ve been present and checking in with myself and my goals and I just felt like it was the perfect time to do a little writing. The new year is always a good time to look back at yourself and the progress that you have made and also what you possibly want to work on in your near future. I have a lot of changes that I'm starting to implement into my life as well as set up for and I’d like for y’all to come with me on that journey, and as a young 22 year old woman I think there’s probably a lot I can share that can help my ladies out there be a more bad ass version of themselves. So here we go….

A lady and her cat alone on the road.... I have this vision of me and my little lady harry on the open road, driving to any destination we could possibly think up and sharing our story with the lovely world that surrounds us. I want to do yoga on every mountain peak that I can find! The most important thing for me is having the choice to stay where you are or pick up and leave at the drop of a hat, but I first need to learn the ins and outs of van life including how to actually take care of the bad boy itself and to make a sweet little income on the road so I can actually afford what I’m doing. This has been a dream of mine for years, and recently I’ve began detaching myself from this system and cycle of life that everyone around me follows and begun focusing on my own path and what my life is going to look like. This life has so many terrible things wrapped up in it and I want to escape from that as much as possible, it’s been said before that no one who has ever made a difference followed the same path as everyone else? They used their own navigation and went down the roads that spoke to them, and that is the very mission I am on!

Now I know, if I am trying to save for a van and move out and all that blah blah why am I giving up my job and moving across the country to a place significantly more expensive than where I live right now? Well the work-leisure scale for me has never been 50-50. I value time and experience so much more than I value money and for me to be the best and most complete me I can be I need to value the time that I have, every single minute of it and place it above tangible things. Sometimes you have to think about the difference between a quick $200 and a whole week to yourself, yes you obviously need a certain amount of money to live, I probably spent about 30 bucks on groceries this week and 20 on gas just to get around but with the right saving you can spend more TIME on yourself and less time worrying about saving money for the next time around. Stop going out and placing value on material items, such as eating out, a new t shirt, a face mask, etc… it’s always good to treat yourself don’t get me wrong but you can always treat yourself in many ways. Taking an extra long hot shower, or waking up an hour early to see the sunset is just as fulfilling as the can of sprite you just needed to have. And when you find more value in doing things like that over other things you’ll find yourself choosing to spend more time living a quality life and being in the moment than thinking about the next thing you need to get or the next place you need to be. Why worry about how long it’s going to take to get there when you could enjoy the journey, and maybe the time will begin to go by faster. Which we end up actually regretting when the time comes, when we actually become able to live in the moment we realize that we wish time could slow down so that we could enjoy the journey much longer.

I’ve already seen such a difference in the quality of my life since trying to spread positivity and light among my life and others lives. The next thing I want to do is establish my story and begin to start sharing my journey with you all a little bit more up close. I plan on starting a podcast and continue my blogging journey and I am actually currently writing parts for a book series I am really excited about for you guys. We are looking at the ability to live life for yourself and implement things to make your life feel worth living. Look for the title, “a book for every woman in their twenties,” “a podcast for every woman in their twenties,” and “a vlog for every woman in their twenties” and be aware, THESE ARE NOT JUST FOR WOMEN but I identify as a woman and these are the things that I know about and want to talk about and share with you which is why it fits under this little umbrella, advice is for everyone, but if you are a young woman looking for a little bit of a lifeline I am someone you can come to for comfort and understanding and maybe just to feel a little bit better about yourself.

Just these few New Years “resolutions” or ideas or movements I’m not sure what to call them is something I’m going to use to continue pushing and challenging myself and we’ll see how fast we can make the impossible happen. To keep into perspective, just a mont ago I decided to put my apartment up for sublease and quit my job and move across the country and next week I’ll be driving out there with my cat all alone so I mean it’s literally just been a few weeks but I can see this year being full of promises I would have never made at the beginning of last year. Can’t wait to see what the Abby of 2022 has got to wish for.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Abby Hood

oh hey there! It’s me Abby, the 22 year old skateboarding artist singer designer vans employee that is from NOVA, moved to Richmond, and is now on my way to San Diego. Hope to see ya here again soon! Welcome to my page.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.