Humans logo

Keep It To Myself

Some things are better left unsaid

By TexasChicanaPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

I came home from work, happy, but nervous. Happy because it was Friday and although I was scheduled to work Saturday it was at last the weekend. As soon as I got off from work I saw the text message from him asking me to buy some beer for him before I got home, so I did.

After he got off we went to check out some snow things we needed for an upcoming trip. He stopped at the gas station at bought himself a small bottle of some knock off whiskey. Chugged the bottle before we passed through 2 traffic lights. We ended up showing up a tad bit late to the store and had exactly 3 minutes to shop before the store closed. I bought snow gloves, and he got information on something he was planning on buying.

Before we headed home he asked if we could stop by his moms, I didn’t mind. I said I didn’t mind, yet he still kept saying things like “I’m not trying to force you to go”, “we don’t have to go if you don’t want to”, “are you sure you’re okay?”. I breathed in and out as silently as I could and kept repeating that it was fine, which I was fine with. I loved going to his moms. She’s the most loving ever. Sad to say but majority of the time I felt closer to her than my own mother. I had no problem stopping over. Only thing I asked from him .was that he didn’t drink too much.

He had just one drink and I think it was enough to push him into the dark side so to speak. We left after that drink and he said that I was being all cranky and snapping back at them so therefore he decided it was best we left. I tried to keep my cool on the way home but I’m sure he could tell I was a bit annoyed when telling him that that was not how I felt it went at his moms. We sat there in silent, his window rolled down, cigarette in hand, listening to the radio. I wanted to say so many things but I kept my mouth shut. Inhale, exhale. Inhale, exhale. Inhale, exhale. I started saying things that were completely off topic, irrelevant to the lightweight discussion we had just had.

Came home, we chatted a bit, he put on a movie, and that was that. I dozed off on one side of the couch and him on the other. I woke him up when I was headed towards bed and asked if he was joining, he shrugged his shoulders and said maybe. Still now he lays there. Mumbling who knows what, giggling here and there. I think he had a drinking problem, because we were having such a great time and out of nowhere my sober ass started acting some type of way. Some type of way that he can’t remember any specific smart ass comments he claims I made at his moms. Some type of way where he thought I was getting annoyed by him asking me if it was okay we go over to his moms in the first place. Somehow I was at fault for of all this. Tonight I lay here in bed, feeling distant from him. Just like the day I walked in his door and he was expecting the hoe, not me. I’d share this with him, but since there’s still alcohol in his system, I think it’s best I keep it to myself.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

TexasChicana

I find writing therapeutic. Helps me get through life when I’m feeling absolutely worthless.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.