Humans logo

Keep it simple.

makes things way easy and calm.

By Shannon LemirePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Keep it simple.
Photo by David Becker on Unsplash

Keep it simple.

A phrase I've come to embrace and slowly incorporate into my life as far as decluttering physical objects to deleting apps on my phone. I used to be the person who had tons of stuff in her car, now it is kept clean and organized with minimal items inside. And it feels awesome to get in my vehicle; calm and ready to drive without the distraction of stuff.

Keep it simple has led me to burn things in my wood stove because after looking at it, I'd ask myself, why do I have that thing? It's serving no purpose other than to hang on my wall or be on my shelf. When I walk into the house I feel lighter now that most of the wall stuff is gone.

The room I sleep in is minimal; a futon, small desk, bureau, and a couple of nightstands. Add in a few mirrors and lamps and voila, instant cozy cabin-like feel. All three of my dogs sleep in here with me and sometimes my two cats. I took the door off; using two lightweight curtains to create a soothing atmosphere.

Keep it simple allows me to focus on the task at hand all while working towards a bigger picture goal for myself. It has me see that the more I keep it simple, the closer I am to realizing the nature of universal source. Keep it simple gives me space to see that everything always works out. It shows me to practice patience, love, kindness, and tolerance to others.

We make things complicated by all of the other distractions out there. Adding things to our lives that don't acutally make things easier rather they make things more, well, more.

More responsibilties to think about the extra thing that was just added to your life. Which leads to everyone becoming impatient and irritated because of all the now 'important' things they 'have to do'.

How many apps do you really need on your phone?

How many gadgets do you have in your house right now that have been sitting there for a long time and you know you will never use?

How about books? How many books do you have that collect dust or that you know you'll never read?

Do you keep your house clean and organized or is stuff everywhere?

Keep it simple has me more connected to my inner self which affords me the opportunity to listen deeper. As a result, I've developed a morning routine that sets the tone to my day as well as reminds me to keep it simple throughout my day. I get up, take my dogs out, make a cup of tea, go upstairs to my room and set up for journaling, reading, and meditation; this is before 8 a.m. I think of a hermit whilst in these quiet moments of the morning. Listening to nature, listening to myself, and most importantly having a conversation with universal source.

Keep it simple restores my faith in knowing that all things work out for the highest good in time. Remembering that I am not alone on this path of keep it simple is helpful for me. Here is a passage from The Quiet Mind, by White Eagle that resonates.

If the veil could be drawn aside, you would indeed feel happy and thankful to know that by the power and through the will of God, the spiritual brothers come close to help you on your upward climb. Try to feel the comfort of their warm handclasp --their hand upon your shoulder, their understanding. Your spiritual teacher and guide knows your every aspiration, every difficulty that you endure. Your guide knows your innermost need, and will comfort you and lead you into green pastures and beside still waters.By your love, by your belief in God's love, and your belief in love itself, you can create the bridge across which we come to you.

My prayer is this: God help me to continue to keep it simple- from managing my finances, to decluttering my stuff. Help me to focus on the task at hand, swayed not by the shiny objects.

Thanks.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.