Humans logo

Just a Sunset

I was going to submit this for better days challenge but I’m broke so... 🙃

By VTPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
Landa Park, New Braunfels TX

It’s something I've done more often now. Watching the blue sky as it mellows out. The bright yellow sun that once sent electricity through the air now paints a reflection of the days events, handling every depiction with care. These moments are like brush strokes that blanket the sky. Those swirling bold colors caressed with light give hope, new beginnings, and a smile to your minds eye. Can you see it. Close your eyes a imagine those bright blues turning into deep purples and fiery Reddish hues. My eyes don’t even have to strain to see it. I smile. That stroke right there, it reminds me of you. I’d seen that same rare stroke from my window in my room. It was back in a time before the city’s were ghost towns, before the plagues left Egypt and infected the world; before people became afraid and lost that love that was already slipping away, before there was an even deeper hate. I wish I could go back to that place…

The birds know how I feel; their small choir sings above their reflection in the watery sky. I see my own face in the ripples that flow by and I try so hard to push the thought of you out my mind. Now I hear the trees, before they were happy, now they seem to protest at the things they see. Things were better when we were gone, no one was there to litter the ground with trash or pollute the waterways with waste. I guess the disease had washed the worst of us away. I’d like to imagine our faults are at bay, but it’s hard when they man across the way had no desire to change. He fills his lungs with dark clouds and throws the paper to smolder to ash; It’s right besides a pile of trash, all only a few feet away from the silver bin. I guess common sense will never win. Then I see her and him, walking side by side enjoying summer before it flys by. Their faces aren’t covered, exposed to the air as if what they fear could never touch them. I wonder how it feels to be like them. How it feels to so easily forget, to have your heart heartened like that. Do they care about the people that now surround them? No stop, let’s hope for the best. They’re probably just doing the same as me, watching the sky as it paints a picture of what it sees. They must have been so excited they for got their masks; let’s hope nothing comes from this simple accident.

But deep inside I knew exactly why.

I inhale deeply through the cotton over my face and let every stale indoor particle wash away. I wish I could share this moment with you like them. To see they way your eyes crease, the way your mouth turns, and try to understand why you’re voice entrances me with it’s every word. Maybe we’ll meet again, like him and her. In person, not over a video call that muffles our words. Maybe then I won’t have to speak in metaphors and be cryptic with my words. Then, I won’t hold back, I’ll let my souls be heard. I’ll be like the sky and tell you what I see and let these colors, my emotions, paint the scenes. Yes, that my dream. My new beginning.

That one day, if not soon, we’ll stand like him and her under a sunset like this or under the moon. There are no awkward glances and no being shy; because finally our words had a chance to fly. They flew like those birds and have sweet sounds too. And we’ll paint they sky with memories in deep and colorful hues.

humanity
1

About the Creator

VT

Where words fail my poetry speaks…

and I’m really not good at speaking.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.