Humans logo

Journal Entry

January 21, 2021 Something to read with your coffee

By Audie EdwardsPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
3
Journal Entry
Photo by Briana Tozour on Unsplash

Okay, it is 6:31 p.m. I have been off work since 4:30 and I am so ready for a shower.

I hate coming home and too tired to write, or so much pain in my hands I can not bear it any longer.

You know what? I am off tomorrow thank goodness. We do not have a fifty hour work week this week. So now as I write a journal piece I am washing a load of laundry.

I hate how laundry is a never ending story, it is every freaking day. I feel like I wash my kids blankets more than normal.

Why? You might ask, oh my children just through everything in the dirty clothes pile.

So let’s talk about how my day went for a moment shall we.

I work at whirlpool and I work on the assembly line and today I was on the turntable.

I Wish I could stay in that spot which is crazy, because when I was there before oh how I hated the turntable. It was a nightmare!

Hey I did it though, yes I sure did.

So if you're wondering what a turntable is let me tell you.

A turntable is the beginning of the track the bottom of the ovens come down a line and we stick them on a table. While the table is moving you are putting parts on it, then it gets stuck on a track.

At 2:20 it was last break it was now last break, one of the woman I use to work with in pack out came to me and asked,

“Why don’t you talk any more?”

“ You do not cut up any more.”

She added, I start to shrug because I have noticed it too. I used to laugh and cut up with them. Enjoy life and have a good time.

I answered her,

“ I don’t know, but I have noticed it too.”

She then told me to come down there with them and they would have me cutting up again.

I wish, I really do miss working with them.

Now if I can be honest with you guys, the last time I had a good laugh.

Now I am talking and laughing until there are tears.

My brother and I were on the phone talking about our late grandfather.

Who always told us he knew Old John Henry the steel driving man, and that he was related to RIP Van Winkle. The reason is because my grandfather's last name was Van- Winkle. Now my brother began to tell me that when he was in the third grade he told his teacher he was related to RIP Van Winkle. The teacher told him that he wasn’t and had to explain that RIP meant rest in peace.

He said, his teacher brought up John Henry and my brother began to say

“ My grandpa knows him.”

The teacher had to correct him and tell him that was just a tall tale.

He said, he felt like Adam Sandler from the waterboy,

“No Colonel Sanders you're wrong Grandpa is right.”

He also was telling me he became class president because of a speech I wrote for him.

I had no clue I did not remember that at all.

Well, our school got vandalized and he had to go clean the class with the teacher.

He said, the class had made old time like stores for a project.

His store was spared, it did not get stomped on during the break in.

He told the teacher, see God spared my store. He had his hand on my store and told them not to stomp on mine.

The teacher replied,

“ No, that isn’t what happened.”

“He said, yes it was!”

My brother had me laughing my butt off so bad I was crying.

I do not laugh like that anymore. I try to tell my man to make me laugh and nope.

We always got to be serious really, I hate being serious all the time.

I don’t know then I start to think I am going crazy but I know that is not it.

I used to laugh all the time and I used to have fun.

I do not want to go out without the family to have fun. I want to include everyone.

Even if it was a family game night and we all are sitting around cutting up and having fun.

Well my love’s that is it for today my hands are killing me.

I will be back tomorrow with some more stories and a journal entry.

Take care and have a good one.

humanity
3

About the Creator

Audie Edwards

I am an amateur writer, who loves to write poems.

I feel poetry is my only escape from reality. I love to play with the imagination a little and get Dark. We all have nightmares and fears

I just put mine to work in a beautifully written poem.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.