Humans logo

In The Club

#storytime

By Latoya Giles Published 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Ok... So its like 2007 right? My best friend (at the time) and I decided to hit the club. It was a typical Friday night. My mom was baby sitting so I was free to get my grove on. This particular club we liked to go to was all you could drink for twenty bucks ( I know right). I had on a black and purple crop top and black capris. I was definitely feeling myself. Music is bumping, and the drinks are good, all is well. Of course the drinks aren't super strong because they are bottomless. If you wanted top shelf, you could pay for it. My little free were good enough for me. Naturally, after a few cups of liquor, you gotta pee. The bathroom was across the dance floor. No big deal. I'd been here at least half dozen times so I knew exactly were to go.

"I'll be back", I yell to my homegirl over the music.

I wasn't drunk, but I wasn't sober either. You couldn't pay me to walk a straight line. I'm minding my business, walking across the floor. The restroom sign is in my view. For whatever reason, I look to the right (I really have no idea why), and what do I see? The father of my infant daughter grinding on some chick! WTF?!? Now I know y'all probably like "how you gone be mad when you at the club too?". Well, I am upset because I TOLD him I was going out this night, he was supposed to be at his damn mothers house. One reason we not together is because he always lied to me. He cheated a bunch too, but that's for a different story...Anyway, so I see him grinding on this girl and I'm just like "oh, ok" and keep walking. I use the bathroom and come back out. They are still dancing. I'm certain he didn't come alone. For one thing, he didn't have a car so someone had to drive. I scan the floor. BINGO! I see a homie! I shimmy on over to him and drop down, then start backing it up on him. So now my daughters father and I are facing each other grinding with someone else. He's visibly getting angrier by the second because my partner is his friend. I didn't know the girl he was dancing with. The song ends and I saunter off back to my the bar to rejoin my friend. We carry on our night: drinking, dancing and hanging. Fast forward to last call. The lights come on and we are leaving. There seems to be a commotion. Humans are naturally curious so we looked. Baby dad is drunk and standing on top of the pool table. Security is yelling for him to get down but he refuses. They then proceed to forcible remove him from the table then from the club. He is still belligerent so police take notice. By this time, friend and I have reached my car and gotten inside. It was a warm summer night so I rolled my window down before I pull off. Out of nowhere, my hair gets pulled and my neck snaps back. This man done wrapped his hand up in my hair! I had flat wrap (Im an 80s baby). My hair hung past my shoulders.

"Where you going?"

"Let me go please." I say exasperated

My friend is used to this (sadly), so she watches. An officer comes up behind him. Said officer sees that this is the drunk man from inside the club. He then sees my hair being pulled. He grabs baby dad and puts him on the ground. The whole knee on the neck thing. A second officer asks me if I'm ok. I say yes. He then asks if I know the guy on the ground. I say yes to that question as well. The third question was if I was taking the guy home. I couldn't say no fast enough! I pulled off. He was home when I woke up so I figure they didn't arrest him. He was free to engage in more shenanigans! Stay tuned...

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Latoya Giles

I'm just a single mom tryna make it. Come with me on my journey through life in writing... "A dream deferred is not a dream denied"

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.