Humans logo

In Memory Of John Yates

Missed, Apppreciated, and Loved

By Amanda J MollettPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
In Memory Of John Yates

When I first started middle school at Robidoux Middle School we had this principle, but I don't even remember . However,  our vice principal a Mr. John Yates, he was very memorable, he was amazing vice principal my seventh grade year then the next year when I was in eighth grade he was a great principal. He was a even better principal then he was a vice principal because as a vice principal he could only do so much. He could only make up so many of the rules and guidelines and everything that went into his school, but as a principal who was in charge of everything that he could possibly be in charge of and he took his responsibilities as principal above and beyond.  That man really cared about his kids he really cared about every single student in that school. There was not one person he did not, there was not one person he did not try to help out of a sticky situation, there is not one person there that he thought was a bad kid.  He knew that some of the kids there were troubled, but that is exactly how he saw them. He saw them as troubled young youths who just needed guidance, who just needed a strong stern hand, who needed a positive role model, who needed a great principal to run the school.

 

 

 

I really respected him.  I thought he was amazing vice principal he was an even better principle.  He was a good man, he was a good leader and many people loved him.  I was so saddened when I found out of his passing.  All of the kids here in Saint Joseph  Missouri , that had Mr. Yates as a provider, really lost a good educator , a good leader , and knew a great man. 

 

Ever since I do not know that there has been anybody as good as he was.  I definitely do not think that the principal at my daughter's school when she was in fifth grade was any comparison to Mr. Yates.  My daughter now goes to Robidoux Middle School the ,same middle school that I went to and I only wish that she would be able to have Mr. Yates as her principal.  There are plaques up in the school in Memory of him .  They have even named the streets on the driveway into the parking lot of the school . One of the streets is called Yates Drive after Mr. Yates as  a little memorial . Which I think is really cool. It is  nice that my daughter is able to see that stuff around school .However, she did not know who Mr. Yates was until I told her that was my old principal and she really wished that she would have gotten to have him as her principal.  I think a lot of kids nowadays are missing out because they have not  had him.

 

 

Mr. John Yates, passed in 1999. Born in 1950, he lived a full life of  doing good deeds, caring for his students, enriching our lives. He was a son, a friend, a husband, a vice principal, a principal, an edcator, and a volneteer. He orangixed school dances, and was involved with PTA. He was not just the head of the school, but he also was very involved in many things. He was active in his community. He was a great human. Many people were blessed to have known him and to have  had him in their lives.  Many people are better for knowing him. I really wih that kids these days had what I had in school when I was younger. I had some of the best techers.

 

 

In memory of John yates

1950-1999

 

Sent from Mail for Windows 10

 

humanity
1

About the Creator

Amanda J Mollett

First, and foremost I am a mom…always . I am a proud mom of a graduate & artist. I am a author/writer and a journalist. I have multiple certificates in journalism and various writing certificates such as novel writing and creative writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.