Humans logo

In donating blood, I rejuvenate my body

It is a win win for me and the world

By Novel AllenPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
In donating blood, I rejuvenate my body
Photo by Mathilda Khoo on Unsplash

Blood.

Red

Life.

This crimson ooze that drips or gushes from your veins

whether by a tiny nick or evil pierce

Is the life sustaining color of mankind

Many a strong, well biceped man

Will shy away from the mere hint of donating

even for a worthy cause

I know, I have tried, with gentle entreaty

To solicit this wonderous beautiful fluid

from their bodies, to the universe

No they say,

It is not for me

this giving of blood

Many a tender maiden, dainty nose wrinkled a little, in disgust, asks,

"Are you crazy"? they stick a needle in the arm

But, I entreat

You can save the life of a child, a woman,

a man, a stranger, or better yet

Your own life

In an emergency, it saves time, it saves

lives.

And so I tell them that, I have been

A blood donor from my twentieth year

The years have flown by, but I am

still donating, for life

It does the body a great service to

Rejuvenate and replenish and restart the heart

when it's desire is for a refreshed pint of new blood

Your heart will thank you

By DESIGNECOLOGIST on Unsplash

It will laugh, and sing

By Hybrid on Unsplash

By Alexandre Boucey on Unsplash

For a thing shared

is joy doubled

Many times over

Causing a chain reaction

Which pays itself forward

Holding hands

Around the world

For it now has the ability to recharge and gain new

strength

It requires but four to six weeks to

renew the body and be ready to again

donate, renew, recharge, continue the cycle

In these perilous times, the need for life blood

is akin to the need for food, clothing or shelter

We need one to balance all

For what is the purpose of mankind

If not to save each other's lives by any means necessary

Be brave and proud that you are a small, but vital

part of a solution, keeping this chain of existence

ever moving forward in love and selfless caring

By Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

This decision will, most definitely take you out of your very

safe, quiet and needle free zone of comfort, but

You will be rewarded with gifts,

Nourishing juices, energy giving chocolates, cookies, candies

and even a tee shirt or two, but most importantly,

you will be the proud owner of a brand new

shiny Donor Card, that proclaims

"I am a blood donor." I am helping to save lives, one at a time,

or many as I go, as I continue to unselfishly put others

first and foremost, while still being there for myself

should the need arise

You will tell yourself that,

Among the steps that I am taking to foster goodwill and caring

going into the new year, and the years to come

Will be adding this service of blood donation

to my 'to do' list as long as I am able to so do

For, is it not a noble thing, to care

There is now, a chronic shortage

of every type of this thing called blood

Call up the Red Cross

Google blood donation centers nearest you

There are many ways to join this club of kind

hearted souls

They will pick you up, inform you of the best way to

be availed of this purge needed to sustain another life

Each body is forty five to seventy five percent of water

Each body contains approximately SEVEN percent of body

weight of blood

Estimated by weight, size, sex, or even where you live

A person can afford to lose a certain amount

without causing harm to the body

You, the adult, has ten pints in your body

Surely you can spare one pint

every now and then

I am but a tiny cog in this great wheel

called earth

Do yourself a favor

Join me

Donate for life

N.A.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Every new day is a blank slate. Write something new.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.