Humans logo

I Take Up Space

TW: Self Harm, Body Image, Eating Disorders

By Nicole KeefePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

Have you ever felt too big for a space?

In elementary school, I was chasing a butterfly in the park and a wooden bridge broke under me. I fell into a pond.

In elementary school, I wasn't allowed to wear my older sister's First Communion dress because it was too small for me.

In middle school, my Mom gave me a celery stick and my brother a protein shake because I "needed to lose weight and he needed to gain weight".

In high school, I started to wear sports bras every day (sometimes two) because it squeezed everything in. I used to wear waist trainers under my high school uniform to show that I was "naturally" skinny. I sometimes ate in the bathroom because I didn't want anyone to see that I was eating.

In high school, I stepped on a scale once a day and kept charts about my weight, craving for that downward slope. I kept a journal strictly for what I have eaten daily. I have taken a measuring tape and measured the circumference of my calves, thighs, hips, waist, chest, shoulders, neck, arms, and wrists. I have a kept a journal with those numbers and did everything to make those numbers go down.

In college, I didn't feel that dieting was doing anything to my body, so for two weeks straight, I only ate junk food to see how my body would react. It left me feeling fatiqued, bloated, and greasy.

In college, I was made fun of for being the biggest in my dance class. I have cried before, during, and after that class because it was all skinny ballet dancers and I would never look like them. I was called out by an acting professor for looking sick. I was told by that same professor that I either needed to lose 20 pounds to look like a secondary character -or to study comedy to fit the "fat funny friend" category.

I have been told not to eat something because "a touch on the lips would go straight to my hips".

I have been told to "not eat too much protein because it will make you gain weight".

I have been told "not to eat that", and "aren't you supposed to be healthy" and "that's not good for you".

I have been told, "Aren't you trying to lose weight?" and "Why are you eating that if you are a personal trainer?"

I have shamed people for eating. I have done expirements, on myself, to find out what kind of food my body gains and loses weight with.

I have cowered in corners. I have not gone out with friends because I felt too big. I have tried to get the "no -effort thigh gap" with more effort that I should have. I have crossed my arms and crossed my legs; I am very familiar with closed body language to give the illusion that I am smaller. I have shrunk, made myself smaller, covered my stomach, worn baggy clothes to cover what it needed, worn tight clothes to accentuate what it didn't need to. I have pricked, prodded, cut, squeezed, tightened my body to look a certain way.

Unbeknownst to me, none of these things did not give me any lasting joy.

.

I have grown.

I have accepted myself.

My mouth lifts up farther on one side when I smile. My nose is curvy when looked at from the profile. I have wrinkles around my eyes from laughing. I have sun spots on my shoulders from spending too much time outside. I have freckles on my nose from sun damage. My eyes squint and I snort when I laugh. I have scars on my knees and discoloration on my shins from playing outside when I was younger. I have scars on my fingers and toes from riding bikes and climbing trees and jumping into lakes. I like to sing in the car, and swim until I get pruney, run until I'm out of breath, hike until the sun goes down, and dance without any rhythm.

I am 28 years old now. I eat food for fuel. I eat burgers with my friends. I eat peanut butter cups on Halloween. I go into the grocery store and buy food because I like the taste and not because it has less calories. I eat carbs so that I can go to the gym and have a healthy workout. I eat food to grow and to heal and to sleep and to breathe. I encourage others to eat food, not because it is "bad" or "good", but to eat food. There should never be a toxic relationship with something that is needed to live.

I am grateful for the things that my body can do and how it feels instead of how it looks. I've changed the way I talk to myself and others.

My body has healed itself, it has grown, it has put itself back into place; my body has been resilient and bounced back.

I take up space.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Nicole Keefe

Part time artist, writer, and hobbiest who isn't afraid to learn and step out of comfort zones.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.