Humans logo

I May Have To Shut Down My Writing Business

It all started with a loaf of bread

By Rick MartinezPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like
Photo of author

There's a bakery down the road that makes the best-est bread you'll ever taste.

My wife and I go nuts over it, and it's a weekly trip for me.

I walked in on my typical day and asked for a loaf of white, sliced, please.

The lady gives me a cross-eyed look and says: "There's no bread today. Today is value only day. Today we won't accept your money, and we're not gonna sell you anything either."

WTF?

Value?

Yeah. No bread. Just lots of value, and if I sign up on their list, I can watch the 30" FREE webinar on how to make the best bread ever. And that at the end of the FREE webinar, there'd be a special offer for the folks who stay till the end.

I'm 125% dumbfounded at this point.

I.

Just.

Want.

Bread.

Take my money, gimme my bread.

That's why I'm here...that's what I want...you've already shown value with the bread I saw on your page, the slices I've eaten, and all the damn testimonials, so GIMME MY BREEEEAAADDDD!!!!

"Nope! Only value, and today we're simply promoting our content for you to read and reap some value from."

At this point, I'm confused, angry, and ready to storm out the door to my car...

​​​​​​​***** wakes up screaming from a horrible nightmare and realizes he soaks the pillow with sweat *****

Most goo-roos I've read all over social media will tell you to share value.

Value.

Value.

Value.

They say that value is the way to earn business.

They say that value builds credibility.

They say that to be a great marketer, you must first give value.

And don't even try to make a sale UNTIL you've given value.

Fuuuuuggggg that.

​​​​​​​What I've come to realize is something my dad always taught me.

ASK FOR THE BUSINESS.

So why does this matter to you?

Because I've got some wares to sell that'll make you better.

I have a kick-ass writing course for newbie writers wanting to start freelancing. I also am spinning up a rocking mastermind group for folks who want to succeed but need high-level writing wisdom and accountability.

All of which I possess.

And that value thing?

If you're here, you likely know me as a successful entrepreneur or a writer, maybe as an experienced emergency room nurse. Perhaps you've been coached by me before. Or maybe you've digested one of my books or my hundreds of articles.

My point is that there has already been gobs of value put out by yours truly.

So my big change?

I am going to sell something in every message I send.

Wanna know why?

Because when I make a sale, I help someone.

When someone takes one of my courses, they learn how to write and write better... so they can make more money and provide a better life for their family.

They can save for their kids' college fund and treat their significant other, who put up with the roller coaster of entrepreneurship as the business was being built.

My courses, books, mastermind group, and services transform people's lives.

Sure, I make money from selling these things.

Am I allowed to do that?

Am I allowed to pay my bills?

Am I allowed to build a business where I'm helping folks be better and earn more?

Am I allowed to give myself a better life?

Yes.

And so are you.

So if I don't ask for the business, guess what happens?

I may have to shut down my writing business.

Now, here's my pitch:

If you still need to be aware of my course, here it is.

And if you are aware, but aren't interested, then maybe someone you know is.

That's all I got today, folks.

I have big ass goals for the next chapter of my life, and I want you to be a part of it.

Gotta run, my wife is buttering up a slice o' toast for me.

Conquer your Everest.

Rick

​​​​​​​(PS: this message, as written, is CHOCK full of value)

** If you're new to me or wanna crush it as a writer, here's how to get on this exclusive list yo-self **

advice
Like

About the Creator

Rick Martinez

I help CEOs & entrepreneurs write & publish books that give them authority & legacy | Bestselling author | Former CEO turned ghostwriter |

California born, Texas raised.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Kendall Defoe about a year ago

    This is hitting me pretty hard, sir. Never joke about business if can help it...or toast. And I VALUE your work immensely. 🤐

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.