Humans logo

I’m Terrified Of Hurricane Ida

My Fear Grows With Each Weather Report

By Jade M.Published 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Photo by Aline Nadai from Pexels

When I was younger, I didn’t realize how serious hurricanes were. I used to look forward to the school closing, and I loved the sound of rain beating against the roof and the walls of my house. I’d usually spend those days watching cartoons, playing video games, or reading. Sometimes we’d lose power, but I never felt like I was in danger. I was also never worried that I’d lose everything because I didn’t know that everything could change in the blink of an eye.

It didn’t sink in how dangerous hurricanes were until Katrina hit. My family and I weren’t planning to evacuate, but we were forced to. We didn’t take much since we thought we were coming back. I was under the impression that we would treat leaving like a mini-vacation, but I was wrong. We lost almost everything in the storm, and we weren’t allowed back into Louisiana. The months that followed the storm were torture. We didn’t know when or if we would be able to go back, and we didn’t know what we’d find in the place of our home.

The news showed us violent and terrible things, as those who’d stayed fought for survival. People took to their roofs to protect themselves and their families. Some of the survivors were rescued by someone who had a boat, but others weren’t so lucky. When the water cleared, the police began searching houses, looking for survivors. I can still remember passing buildings that were spray-painted with the number of people found dead inside.

The news also made a point to showcase scavengers. We watched as they broke into stores, desperate to feed their families. They traveled through chest-deep waters because they were desperate. The reporters also stressed how dangerous the area was, as there was no food, and looters would be shot on sight. Louisiana being shown on tv was different than the one I’d grown up in, and it might revert to that dangerous place filled with desperate people once again.

Despite all the negatives that happened during Katrina, I was one of the lucky ones. My family survived the hurricane, and we didn’t have to fight for food and resources. We found a building called the share center, where they would let us fill up a basket with all the clothes and groceries we needed. We discovered a love for King of The Hill and the George Lopez Show, and we found a neat store that was within walking distance of where we were staying. The library allowed us to use their resources, so we could check on friends and loved ones who had shared their email addresses with us.

Now that I realize how much damage a hurricane can do, I am terrified of hurricane Ida. My fear grows with every weather report I watch as I hope for good news. Sadly, there is no good news. I’m afraid of what my family and friends will face, and I’m worried about how I’m going to protect my dog. I may be a little selfish, but I don’t want to lose everything again. I’m not sure that I would be able to recover from a loss that great again.

Many negative thoughts have been filling my mind, as I wonder if I’ll see my family and friends again. I think about the interactions I’ve had with them and wonder if I’d be okay if that’s the last time I see them. Did I tell them how much I cared about them? Should I have hugged them before they left? Are they thinking these same thoughts as we all sit and wonder how much the storm will hurt Louisiana?

Other concerns pop into my head, like, is the house I’m in strong enough to withstand what’s to come? Will I have to seek shelter somewhere, and will I lose my car? I also can’t help but wonder if I’ll even have a job after the storm passes since the building where I work could flood or worse. I also worry that I didn’t prepare enough and wonder if I should have found a way to leave despite not having enough gas.

What about me? I have so many things left that I want to do in life, but they could all be ripped away from me by this storm. Was I a good person enough to get into Heaven? I sure hope so, but I am human. There are times when I don’t always do the right thing, but I wanted to do better. There are also so many things I want to do before I pass (hopefully, that won’t be for a long time). I want to write a best-selling book, fall in love, and positively impact someone. I’m terrified that I won’t get the chance to do so.

Hopefully, a miracle happens, and the storm doesn’t dole out too much damage. At the very least, I hope all my family and friends stay safe because all the material things I own can be replaced. So tonight, as I fall asleep, I will picture each of my loved ones and hope to see them again.

Originally Published On Medium

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Jade M.

Jade is an indie author from Louisiana. While her first book failed, she has plans to edit and republish it and try again. She has a senior min pin that she calls her little editor, and a passion for video games and makeup.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.