Humans logo

I lived like a YouTuber for a week

I love to do experiments, therefore I decided to live like a YouTuber for a week. It resulted in a week with a lot of ups and downs.

By Kimberly MartisPublished about a year ago 12 min read
Like
I lived like a YouTuber for a week
Photo by Libby Penner on Unsplash

Monday

Vlog:" A video blog: a record of your thoughts, opinions, or experiences that you film and publish on the internet". 

I woke up looking like a mess. Today I would start to vlog, so I turned on my camera. "Wait I can't, I have to use the first 15 minutes of my day to aimlessly wander on social media," I said to myself as I turned off my camera. Okay, now I'm ready. I turned on my camera, still looking like a mess. All those vloggers pretend to just wake up, but actually, they already woke up and are pretending to just wake up looking like that. You know, I woke up like this, looking all kinds of flawless. So, I got up and took a shower. After that I had breakfast and when I almost finished eating breakfast, I remembered that I was planning on vlogging. And vloggers always film whatever they eat. I will never understand why people care if you eat toast or oatmeal in the morning, but that's not the point. This was my first mistake as a vlogger. Well, I didn't even start, so technically I wasn't a vlogger yet. Hmm, okay, I should start now. But what would I say? Should I make a silly intro, or open up the vlog by putting on this big fake smile and using a voice like I speak to babies when I say "Hi guys?". I thought about it for a minute. Whatever I would do though, I would not become a cheesy fake vlogger. No fake smiles, no changing the tone of my voice, or using words that I normally don't to get some followers and likes. I love to watch vlogs, but as soon as I get a fake vibe, I'm turning it off. Sorry, not sorry. After that I thought about, was I was going to film. I mean, I didn't have much planned except for doing laundry and cleaning. I could film that and play it fast- forward while some music plays in the background. I mean, that's what vloggers do right? "Yeah, this is not going to work, " I tell myself. Tomorrow is a brand-new day and I will start my vlogging journey then.

Tuesday

Questions & Answers video a.k.a. Q&A video "A video blog: a record where answering questions is a point of focus".

Okay, today is the day I'm going to vlog. After doing my usual 15 minute round on social media, I get up and get in the shower. It was a longer shower than I normally take because I had a lot to think about. You know that among your own concert or dance battle in the shower, the shower is also the best place to think right? So that's what I did. What should I vlog? What do other vloggers vlog? Should I go lay back in bed and pretend to just wake up? Do I need to make a Q&A video? And if so, what are the questions that need to be answered? Or should I do the same as my favorite vlogger? Then I decided that I couldn't keep overthinking this. I was, either going to do this or not. I decided I was, so I got out of the shower ready to vlog! I went for the Q&A video. I sat down and answered some regular questions. My name, age, where I live, what I do, etc. If you wonder where I got the questions from, I just copied them from a Q&A I found on YouTube. No original content, shame on me. After that, I moved on to vlog some more. I was planning on shopping, so it was time to go outside. As soon as I stepped outside, it felt like all eyes were on me. There was no one around, so I was just imaging stuff until I wasn't. The more people I encountered, the more eyes were on me. Apparently, vlogging is not really a normal thing yet. And I do have to agree. I have never seen someone vlog next to me on the street either, so I understood. That didn't make it less uncomfortable, though. In some stores, they asked me not to film. Which doesn't make sense as I only filmed the clothing and not the staff or other customers, but you have to respect the rules. So I did. I did cut into the amount of content that I had for my vlog, but I finally had the courage to start vlogging so I wasn't going to let that hold me back.

Wednesday

Make-up tutorial: "A video blog" a record where applying make-up and talking about make-up products is the point of focus". 

Today I decided to take a different road. I decided to film a make-up tutorial. To be honest, I have a bunch of make-up, but I don't know how to use half of it. But, it doesn't matter for this tutorial. I'm just going to fake it till I make it. Or look some kind of presentable. All the make-up tutorials are filmed with a nice beautiful background, or a neutral color background. I don't have a nice pretty background in my house or a neutral background so I had to create one. I know some vloggers put up sheets, so I did the same. Okay, fast forward to 20 minutes later. (I had a few minor issues with putting the sheets up) I grabbed all the make-up that I was going to use and turned on the camera. The struggle was real since I can't wing my eyeliner to save my life. Ugh, there goes my make-up empire a la Fenty Beauty. I continued to try anyway and cooked up a look. Was it vlog worthy? Hmm, maybe not, but it was going to be a part of my vlogging journey. 

Thursday

Shoplog: "A video blog: a record of showcasing previously random purchased items."

Clothinghaul: "A video blog: a record of showcasing previously purchased clothing."

Today I decided to make another type of vlog again. This time it would be a shoplog. So to have enough items and clothing for my shoplog, I decided to use the items I bought on Tuesday. I found it a little bit boring to just talk about the items that I had bought, even do I think I did pretty well, if I may say so myself. Hmm, should I apply for a job at QVC? I could easily become the queen of selling cute but useless stuff on TV, by smooth-talking into the camera. Okay, back to reality. But I wanted to do something a little bit different. I decided to film a clothing haul. I grabbed all the new clothes that I bought and put together some sets. After I did that, it was showtime. I put on some music in the background and started modeling the clothes. The first two outfits I did pretty well, but the third outfit. Yeah, that is where things went wrong. I started feeling myself way to much, thinking I'm the rebirth of Naomi Campbell and I almost sprained my ankle. Yes, this happened, and trust me, it wasn't a pretty sight. By the way, did I mention that Naomi Campbell is a living legend? Anyway back to me. I guess the clothing haul wasn't a complete failure if I just behaved myself and didn't go all Naomi Campbell on the runway for Versace at Milan Fashion Week. Did I mention Naomi again? My bad. So after all of this, I stopped filming the clothing haul and just decided to just be happy that I succeeded at filming a great shoplog.

Friday

Vlog:" A video blog: a record of your thoughts, opinions, or experiences that you film and publish on the internet."

Today I'm having a very busy day which actually might be good for my vlog. First up I filmed while lying in bed. Yes, I pushed myself to get out of my comfort zone to film straight away after I woke up. No 15-minute social media run. Just straight vlogging. I did look like a mess, but I tried to pretend like I didn't care. After that, I filmed my breakfast. It was uncomfortable looking into the camera talking about my toast. I felt silly doing it, but I guess that's just a part of the vlogging life. Then I had to run some errands. Sitting at the DMV, filming myself and talking into the camera felt very awkward. All eyes were on me, but I tried to ignore it. Later on, I went to pick up some groceries. Still feeling awkward, but again, footage for the vlog. I bought quite some groceries so I decided to take the bus back home. Balancing two big grocery bags and a camera in your hand at the same time while getting on a bus, trust me when I say epic fail. Better yet, make that epic fall. I fell so hard into the bus that everybody kept quiet before they burst out in laughs, of course. Insert laughing emoji, sigh. Anyway, I fell so hard into the bus that the bus driver got up from behind the wheel to help me get back on my feet. It might have been that I'm clumsy, but I think it was a combination of vlogging, heavy bags, and being clumsy. Save to say, that is one of the takes that will not make it into the vlogs. After that, I decided to obviously not vlog on the bus since all eyes were already on me after my grand entrance. I was really into the vlogging spirit, because when I got home I picked up right where I left off. Vlogging the whole process of picking out an outfit and doing my hair and make-up. Later I met up with some friends to go to dinner before going to the club. My friends were a little camera-shy in the beginning, but later we just talked and did our thing barely noticing that the camera was there. And I actually remembered to even vlog our food before we ate it. In the club, vlogging was not a success. I just wanted to dance and have fun with my friends. You know, shake my booty, turn it around, back that thing up (on some cute boys). Wait, am I the only person that remembers that song? Probably yes, since it came out in the early 2000s, but okay. The camera was just in the way. I was fine with vlogging for two songs, but I just wanted to let loose after that. So I did. Needless to say that vlogging was not a part of that. 

Saturday

Story time video: "A video blog: a record where telling a story is the point of focus."

 I decided to use this day to make a storytime video. The whole week I've been thinking about what story I was going to tell and I really didn't have a clue. So I decided to just set the stage and talk. I talked about the thoughts that always linger in my head. Dead and diseases. Needless to say, that might not have been a good idea. I started crying, snot started coming out of my nose. Okay, I'll stop. Let's just say, it was not a pretty sight. Honestly, I don't even know why dead and diseases always linger in my head or why I thought it was a good idea to talk about it on camera. I decided to clean myself up and give it another try. This time I wanted to go for a lighter subject. Talking about my first kiss. Okay, this is just way too uncomfortable for me. I guess 6 days were not enough for me to get used to talking into a camera. I turned off the camera and sat there for a minute. Might be funny, but that's beside the point. When I finally found my subject (throwing shade at celebrities, ha) I didn't even have to think about it. The words just came out of my mouth. It wasn't really a story time video, though, but it was good. I was feeling myself afterwards. Watch out, Oprah! Okay, not the same, more like Wendy Williams, but can I have this moment, please? I was so proud of myself that I decided to watch the video right away. Three things that I found out about myself: 1. I love to talk. Okay, I basically already knew that, but a 45-minute video about me effortlessly throwing shade at your favorite celebrities definitely confirmed this. If someone is going to start a talk show in The View, The Talk, The Real style, I'm your girl! 2. I'm actually good at telling stories. 3. I laugh like a Chihuahua who is getting castrated. Definitely not pleasing to the ears. Metal note to work on that! 

Sunday

Editing: "The process of preparing a film, video, or television program by selecting, rearranging, or rejecting previously filmed or taped material."

Finally, my last day as a vlogger arrived. You might ask why I say finally, but I have to hand it to these professional vloggers. It really takes more than just looking cute to smooth talk your way into becoming the Jenna Marbles, Carli Bybel, Nikkie Tutorials, or any other GOAT of vlogging. It takes time, planning, and dedication to be a really great vlogger, who can actually make a living off of vlogging. So I have to give props where it's due and it definitely goes out to the real vloggers out there doing their thing. I didn't even mention the editing part. Of course, I saved that for the last day, but seeing as my videos look like a complete mess, I will skip the step of editing and uploading them on YouTube. It's one thing to make a fool out of myself in front of friends and family, but for the rest of the world to see… maybe in a few years.

social media
Like

About the Creator

Kimberly Martis

Kimberly Martis is a freelance writer. She writes fiction and non-fiction about culture, beauty, entertainment, tv-shows, music, movies and odd jobs.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.