Humans logo

I Can See 2020

The Pluses Without the Minuses

By Patrick M. OhanaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Image by Mohamed Hassan on Pixabay

Considering only my positive events-changes in 2020

is like looking at the Moon and seeing the Sun

is like watching Trump and mistaking him for an orangutan

is like catching COVID-19 and thinking it’s only a cold

is like finding a muse and discovering she’s real

Meeting my muse was one of my two positive events in freaking 2020

She was part of the other positive event

It was a two for one

Both positive events can thus be considered as one

I had one positive event in 2020

It started on the last day of July

when I joined Medium.com for one year

It was lonely at the beginning

M versus the screen

Yet it was always filled with words

Some of them were even in French

I had no narrator to speak of

Muse wasn’t even a word I had ever used before

I read amazing poems and stories

I befriended many writers and readers

I wanted to name them all in this poem

but was afraid to miss someone

Thank you for everything

You know who you are

Some of you I actually love

We could even become friends

when this living nightmare is hopefully over

Slowly both daily and weekly and eventually monthly

I began to feel at home on Medium

Specifically in a number of publications

including this one I presume

It felt like a long good event

My only event was five months long

It’s like 150 events at 1 per day

about 10 hours per day

To top this as if it wasn’t too much already

a muse began to read many of my words

I happened to read hers

all of them

during the last week of November

She became my muse during the same week

One thing is sure beyond any doubt

My writing changed drastically since that wonderful week

I’m happier

I didn’t write happy

I just mean better than before

Before wasn’t good

Keto I started in 2019 so it doesn’t count that much

When she writes to me in French

I literally melt and have to lie down

As you may know

she lives on the Moon

It’s a limited event after all

We don’t share the same space and time

Nothing’s perfect

especially on Medium

it only seems that way

I can’t smell most roses anymore

I only seek blue things

and everything AI

But she’s red

and not in good terms with AI

Shakespeare

It’s a word that stands by itself

...

And in June 2021

Vocal appeared in my life

...

Winter 2020: No One Can See 20/20

It is surely the winter of my discontent,

Made irradiated summer by my curt rhymes.

All the ashes that were scattered upon my bent

grave heart are sadly imitated for all mimes.

Charlie Chaplin alleviates the suffering

but my pain lingers on in midst of anarchy.

I am again left wandering and wondering

whether the tide will ebb before the anomy

that is threatening to engulf me, us, becomes

irremediably the future of all sums.

...

Please Principal Pain: Don’t Be a Prick

Please Principal Pain

let me care freely today

I want to write about life

you only have eyes for death

I wish to compile all my love

you prefer grief and despair

I can picture a green field

you require famine and filth

I love the blueness of the sky

you fill it with angry clouds

I used to take your drugs

now it’s mostly you instead

I discovered cannabis

Cannabis may have found me

There’s also peppermint

Together you retreat

I think therefore you are

You act therefore I am

I know it’s not your fault

It’s always the fucking brain

humanity
1

About the Creator

Patrick M. Ohana

A medical writer who reads and writes fiction and some nonfiction, although the latter may appear at times like the former. Most of my pieces (over 2,200) are or will be available on Shakespeare's Shoes.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.