Humans logo

I Am From.

Who I am

By Caleb GeigerPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
My little brother, big sister and me

I am from a glass town, not well known but of great affluence. I am from a yellow and brown parsonage, with a second-story screened-in porch where my brothers and I would play with legos. I am from our family dog Bandit, a husky mix. I am from the neighborhood kids I was friends with, and the backyard which seemed huge as a child that in reality was kinda small, but it had a tree fort in the very back that was so much fun to play on.

I am from a duplex with a neighbor who wouldn’t let us play on her side of the yard and a neighbor that was very fun to talk to as she sat in her car. I am from the field we would play baseball in, the same field where I accidentally hit another kid in the mouth with a bat during my swing.

I am from a single-wide trailer where I would go blackberry picking in the woods nearby in spring. I am from the church that I helped build, and where I was the sound and cameraman, and I first became interested in film.

I am from pinto beans in the taco meat, with white corn chips because my mom was allergic to yellow corn. I am from cinnamon sugar toast and a cupboard full of spices because my dad couldn’t eat msg. I am from ham bone white bean chili and bone broth chicken soup, and beef stroganoff with egg noodles. I am from my dad’s ice cream truck and the birthday ice cream novelties, since my birthday is in the summer, and family dinner every night.

I am from my mom, my first teacher and my rock, and my big sister who protected me from my older brothers. I am from my Aunts, who showed that I could be a good person without religion and my mom’s best friend. I am from an army veteran that taught me to work smarter and not harder. I am from my other big sister, who I’ve lived with on and off since moving out of my parents' house at fifteen.

I am from a handful of Sunday school teachers and pastors that taught me about their religion, and the Bill Nye vs. Ken Hamm debate where I realized how wrong their religion is. I am from a psych class at Murray State University, and a lifetime of hard experiences that taught me compassion and gratitude. I am from the psych ward where I read the Tao Te Ching for the first time and the doctors who treated me during my stays there.

I am from corvette city, an adorable town in a great state. I am from my first best friend, and the restaurant I worked at where I met him. I am from my first ex, as much as I hate to admit it. I am from cruising around my city and smoking weed. I am from the death of my best friend by drugs. I am from his brother, who I’ve since become best friends with and his girlfriend.

I am from the city beautiful in the sunshine state, the dear friends I made there, and the life lessons I learned in that city. I am from my first car I bought while there.

I am from the city in the trees, in the peach state. I am from my school, where I’m learning digital film. I am from my hopes to become a great writer and screenwriter, and my dreams to provide for the people I call family.

I am Caleb Geiger.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Caleb Geiger

If you can support me as I make my graphic novel

https://www.patreon.com/calebgeigermedia

If you want me to write a story for an idea you had, you can submit or order it on my website.

https://calebgeigermedia.company.site

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.