Humans logo

How To Start Leading A Healthy Lifestyle

The Philosophical Square of Descartes

By Reese WhiteheadPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
1
How To Start Leading A Healthy Lifestyle
Photo by Marvin Meyer on Unsplash

From birth, we are constantly forced to make decisions and make a choice. At the beginning of your life, you have to choose the color of your favorite toy or hero. Then comes the more complicated choices, which do not always have a single correct solution.

The French philosopher Rene Descartes left us one of the simplest and most eloquent decision-making techniques, which is named in his honor: "The Square of Descartes".

Let's look at an example of how to use this method:

● Get some free time, peace of mind, and a sheet of paper and a pen.

● Formulate your question/task. Our job is to start a healthy lifestyle.

● Answer four questions. Don't write down what comes to mind right away, but think about it to make a complete list of answers. The more answers you find to the question, the more relevant the result will be.

Don't be lazy and write everything down, it's very important. First of all, by answering in your mind, you will be able to get stuck in your arguments. Or we usually make decisions by appreciating only "what can happen after they are made." But in our case, we have to look at it from three points of view. Secondly, our subconscious does not perceive the word "no", which is why errors of perception can occur.

The Square of Descartes

What if this happens?

Write down all the benefits of making that decision. At first glance, all the positives would seem obvious, and you'll be tempted to skip this question, because "everything is obvious," but I advise you not to do that. Write down the answers. Later, they will serve you for motivation.

What if I lead a healthy lifestyle?

● If I start to lead a healthy lifestyle, I will have more energy, health, I will have a good mood more often.

● If I lead a healthy lifestyle, I will be more respectful, or I know how difficult this decision has been.

● If I lead a healthy lifestyle, I will meet new people with a healthy body and soul.

What if this does NOT happen?

Find the benefits if you do not make such a decision. This way you will understand what will happen if everything stays the same. Find the benefits of the current situation.

What if I don't have a healthy lifestyle?

● If I don't start a healthy lifestyle, I won't have to change my lifestyle.

● If I do not start a healthy lifestyle, I will still be able to dream of becoming healthy and beautiful.

● If I do not start a healthy lifestyle, I will not have to prove anything to anyone.

What will not happen if it does not happen?

He also finds the negative aspects, which implies that you will not make this decision. This is the price you will have to pay for your choice.

What will happen if I lead a healthy lifestyle?

● If I change my lifestyle, I will have to forget about my normal life.

● If I lead a healthy lifestyle, I will no longer be able to enjoy cakes in the event of depression.

● If I change my lifestyle, I will lose touch with many acquaintances.

What will not happen if it does NOT take place?

At that stage, you will be aware of the disadvantages of not making this decision. Be careful and formulate your thoughts correctly. Double denial is difficult to perceive, so pay close attention to this point.

Here you will realize the rest of the "no" that is left, on the way to the decision. This is the only question that we recommend you answer quickly, listening to the voice of intuition.

What will not happen if I do not lead a healthy lifestyle?

● If I do not lead a healthy lifestyle, I will not feel in my heart that I have won the battle with myself.

● If I do not lead a healthy lifestyle, I will not get rid of torment and self-blame: "Should I start doing gymnastics and drink more water?"

● If I do not lead a healthy lifestyle, I will not get rid of old habits that I would like to change.

After doing this exercise, you will look at the question from a different perspective, as you have never seen it before or paid too much attention to it. However, the exercise will not decide for you, the decision is yours - the hardest step will be to do it on your own. But the Square can help you.

I wish you easy decisions!

advice
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.