Humans logo

How to Recover After Your World Was Ruined: 6 Tips to Help You

Are you ready to get up?

By Jones CainPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
How to Recover After Your World Was Ruined: 6 Tips to Help You
Photo by Aziz Acharki on Unsplash

About two years ago I had a successful career, which I built over twenty years. I was employed in a company for 13 years, during which time I was praised for my merits.

My romantic life has been less happy. I had to end a painful relationship, full of criticism and conflict. This resulted in depression. I took medication, but it slowed down my work dynamics, so the boss issued the first warning.

Every day seemed like a constant struggle, and I felt more and more out of control and motivated. However, I was still trying to keep things under control.

I was soon fired, even though I told my boss I wasn't depressed anymore. I was not even allowed to make professional contacts with him.

In addition, I had post-traumatic stress disorder as a result of the previous toxic relationship. I also lost my health insurance, so I couldn't buy any more drugs to treat my deplorable psychological state, nor was I able to pay my mortgage at home.

These things happened fourteen months ago, but I still live in my house, study, communicate with friends, work as a business trainer, and am determined to start my own marketing business.

How do you get up and create a new, better path when life is so hard on you? Here are some tips:

Give yourself time to feel pain

This is important. I needed time to resign myself to what had happened, to cry and get angry. I couldn't afford therapy, so I talked to myself when no one was around. About nine months later, I consciously decided not to cry anymore.

You go through all these ugly moments and it doesn't stop you from experiencing negative emotions. The most important thing is to be your best friend and not stay in this state forever.

Remember that this will not always be the case

When I thought about losing everything I had, I was overwhelmed with panic. I kept working on the changes, on new tasks, and over time things started to change. I realized that the waters I was swimming in were not so tumultuous and I could not have drowned in them.

Things will not be the same as in the past and that is a good thing

The first thing I understood in this whole situation was that I didn't want to do what I had been doing for 20 years. I also didn't want to be influenced by my ex-boss, ex-boyfriend, or other people.

I spend a lot of time thinking about what I am passionate about and what I want to do in the future. How to keep my life under control and not let others manipulate me.

Analyze your interests and think about what things matter in your life.

Be careful how you express yourself

Even when I lost everything, I could not perceive myself as a person who has nothing. That's why when people asked me where I worked, I told them I had a business, even if it was just in the design stage.

Think about how you could describe your new reality so that it would inspire and motivate you. You need to create a connection between yourself and the future you want to have.

Take care of yourself as a priority

On every occasion, he shows care and affection for himself. Get enough sleep. Get moving. Rest and relax when you have this chance. Spend time with people who make you happy.

I admitted one thing to myself: I was under daily stress at work, which could be the cause of my depression. When I was determined to live my life differently, I decided to exclude as much stress as possible from my life.

Learn from your own experience

One of the most important things I did to feel better was to analyze everything I had done in the past and act on that data. I realize what I did wrong and I try to avoid those mistakes in the future.

advice
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.