Humans logo

How to know when to leave

When you feel like you're no longer apart of the family

By Davis NguyenPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1
How to know when to leave
Photo by Debby Hudson on Unsplash

Hi, my names Davis and I'm writing this story today to discuss my life as it stands today, I promise to try and not bore you.

I'm 24 and a half right now I guess, my birthday is on January 29th, 1996 and today is July 2nd, 2020. Our governor in my state just extended the no job search requirement throughout August 1st. Coronavirus is ramping up again, and hospital capacity is being stretched. States have rolled-back their re-opening plan for lock down. And cases are rising while the world is changing before our eyes.

I haven't received unemployment benefits for the past 9 weeks. My bills are still piling up. I'm still considered a high school dropout. My supposed girlfriend is MIA. And I haven't been able to lose this 30 lb's I've been trying to get rid of.

Still though, I've gotten a health check up a few weeks ago, which was the first time in what must've been years. I did this because I started feeling some pain in my right testicle. It turned out to be an infection. After taking antibiotics for the course of two weeks, the pain is still intermittently there but reduced. I may have to notify the primary care physician about it again. They may have to untwist my testicular cord by hand.

I still have to get some dental work done, and get an eye exam to get contact lenses as prescription glasses aren't ideal for my side job as a construction laborer. I have to get my official and sealed high school transcript somehow before applying to adult high school diploma completion program at the community college. I have to get another health check up in 2 months. I have a financial check up scheduled for next Monday.

I've applied for about 10 jobs, before realizing I qualify for only like one of them. My current employer is a temporary staffing agency, which I like to choose my days for when I work. Sometimes I'm too tired from a previous job still so I'll take a day off because I worked really hard the other day and didn't give my body enough time to recover. I've tried to apply for commercial fishing jobs so I could live aboard and work for months at a time and then come back home with a fat stack of cash but I've had no luck with that either.

My license is suspended until August 27th for a DUI that I got dismissed and I suspect that I still wrongfully owe court fines for it. The reinstatement fee is $150, while SR-22 insurance is $270 for the first month and then $160 afterwards, that is only non-owner insurance, owning a vehicle would raise the cost of my insurance bill to around $270 like before. The drive test is $50-60 and the knowledge test is $20-25. Altogether, I need about $500 for the first month upon lifting my license suspension. I might just have to ask the court magistrate to dismiss my fines as well if that's possible. Or at the very least, get on a payment plan.

At home, I feel very isolated and alienated from my family. I think its because I'm 24.5 years old with no diploma or real job/source of income. They have disowned me, so would any other family I guess. So it has come to my attention that I need to change some things around. Try new things, get rid of bad habits and form good habits. I heard it takes about 21 days to form a good habit, I tried eating vegan for 21 days but gave up afterwards, I may try that diet plan again but not after consulting with my dietitian next Monday.

I'm hoping someone generous will read this story and feel compelled to donate to my cause. If so, I can include my PayPal link here, I have a PayPal money pool to support my dreams; paypal.me/pools/c/8l1UM7Z6eG

I want to study medicine, maybe get my MBA as well, so I'll have three degrees; MD/PHD/MBA or something. Possibly study cyber security and software development on the side to support my ventures and bring everything together with useful downloadable apps and software for health care industries or general public.

My uncle who just started working for Boeing has offered to pay for my tuition through Boeing's student program or something, so I'll have to follow up with him for more information about that. I may have to finish my diploma first, as I've only got about four or so more credits left to complete.

I'm not sure, I guess things are alright for me...My sigh's are getting intensely deep and taxing though for my taste, I don't like walking anywhere anymore. I want a car. A Tesla, or Tesla cybertruck. An electric motorcycle or electric bicycle. Electric long board for fun. I want an electric yacht for boat parties and sea-side fun. A solar-powered cabin in the woods for vacation.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Davis Nguyen

He considers himself a novice writer. Living in the greater Seattle area, a high school drop out. With no academic credibility, he sets out a journey to the center of his insubordination in hopes to 1 day earn an honest living wage from it.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.