Humans logo

How Three Strangers Changed My World

Acts of random kindness have a positive impact on all involved.

By Amanda BuckPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
How Three Strangers Changed My World
Photo by Megan Markham on Unsplash

The sun was in my eyes as I drove to town, it had just peaked over the horizon and I was heading straight into it. Steam rose from the wet pavement. It was early morning, but it was already hot and humid. I thought about the day ahead. It would be a long day vending at the local farmer’s market. My car was loaded with merchandise, displays, tables, and a tent. The heat would make things more difficult.

Though it was a beautiful morning, I was not in a good mood. My thoughts were heavy as I pondered all that is wrong in the world. Then I saw a police car up ahead, lights flashing, blocking one of the two lanes. Oh great... something else awful... an accident? I noticed caution ribbon in the trees beside the road and thought something worse than an accident might be happening. Besides that, I didn’t want to be late for the market. On these back roads, a detour could take half an hour or more.

As I got closer, I saw what was really going on. A power line had fallen across the road, probably due to the strong winds that accompanied thunderstorms during the night. A single police officer was holding the line high above his head with a forked stick in one hand. With his other hand he directed cars under the wire. This man was my hero! Now I wouldn’t be late. I smiled and waved as I passed under the line and he smiled back.

The market was busy and extremely hot. By the end I was thoroughly exhausted. I stood next to all of my packed gear on the sidewalk and waited for my husband to bring the car so that we could load up. The market was in the heart of downtown and we didn’t want to leave our stuff unattended in the loading zone for fear someone might steal it.

I watched as a lady came walking toward me. She had one of those spray bottles with the little fan attached for misting one’s face. I must have looked as hot as I felt for she asked, “can I spray your face?” At first I was suspicious. She could have anything in that bottle, should I trust this stranger? I searched her face and saw only kindness and an earnest desire to help. I gratefully obliged. I removed my glasses and she sprayed my face. The cool mist was a welcome relief and I began to relax. “Just tell me when to stop,” she said. We talked briefly about the heat and then she went on her way. I would always remember connecting with this beautiful soul who restored my faith in humanity.

On the way home, I came upon a police car with lights flashing, parked on the side of the road behind a pickup truck. I expected to see a stern-faced officer writing a ticket. But instead, I saw a smiling officer pouring a can of gas into the pickup's gas tank. A pregnant woman stood leaning against the truck. I smiled and my heart felt warm. Maybe the world wasn’t all wrong after all.

As the sun went down that day, I lay in my bed. The breeze from the window fan finally providing some relief from the heat. I reflected on the day and how three acts of random kindness from strangers had changed my outlook on life. None of these acts were big. They didn’t take much time. But they changed lives. Not just the lives of those involved, but the lives of those who were watching, as in the police officer who helped the pregnant lady. I was simply witness to that event, but it left an impression on me. That officer’s selfless act made me feel more positive about life.

I wondered what things I have done that may have effected someone who was watching me. Did I effect them in a positive way, or a negative way? I resolved to make an effort to watch for opportunities to perform my own acts of random kindness. Maybe I could be a force for good, of positivity, in the world. A smile spread across my face as I drifted off to sleep.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Amanda Buck

Amanda is a creative writer and photographer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.