Humans logo

How I survived (Part 1)

What you thought could never happen to you, happened.

By Zeinab Published 3 years ago 2 min read
2

I was only 14 when I had met that man, and little did I know what I had signed up for. The man that changed my life in so many ways. The man who stole my happiness, ripped my sweet smile off my face, and tore my innocent heart to pieces. Get ready to come along with me on a story so emotional, you’ll be dying to hear more.

I had moved to a village in Lebanon, that was nothing like where I grew up. I grew up in Toronto, living most of my life with only my mom by my side. I was young, naive and starting a whole new life in a different country. A country that I thought was supposed to be my home. As I was struggling to adjust, I tried my best to stay positive. One thing I absolutely love about myself, is my ability to radiate positivity. I’m THAT person. Little did I know I was about to be robbed of my happiness.

It was a hot summer night, and I was enjoying my time with my cousin when I met him. Him. Let’s just call him Med. When this man had asked to speak to me, I thought to myself “why not?”. So I gave this man a chance, but it had only been the first of many. What was only one conversation, turned into multiple conversations. Multiple conversations had turned into a relationship, and before I knew it I felt trapped.

Being so young, inexperienced and gullible, you really see the best in toxic people. You believe all their lies. You listen to all their made up stories. You tend to feel crazy if you ever doubt them, and the day you realize that you were never crazy, is the day you realize it’s too late.

Let me get you in on a little secret. If you genuinely believe that it’s too late, then you must’ve been scared to take action, or just didn’t have enough support. Unfortunately, I suffered from not having the support, and being terrified of this man. If I could tell my younger self one thing right now, it would be “babygirl, it is never too late!” So, if you’re reading this, and you feel like it’s too late to back out of something or change your whole path, please listen to me! You will regret not doing what you know deep down is right. It is never too late.

advice
2

About the Creator

Zeinab

I’m aspiring to be an awesome journalist. I hope you enjoy my writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.