Humans logo

How an innocent "ringtone" brought me right back to a place, I'd rather FORGET!!

Sound and how it activates our "Memory Rolodex".......

By Jacqueline MedinaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

So I recently went back to an Iphone after literally six years of boycotting anything Apple. Well long story short, Mama found her way back home. As I held my new MacBook Air in my hands, I knew my Galaxy days were numbered. The next day I made the trade in, and came home with the new Iphone SE, 2020 edition of course. It's a beauty and I was happy to be back together. We were Reunited, and it felt ohhhhh so good. It took me a couple days to get it customized to my liking. After about a week i felt confident that I had taken care of all the bells and whistles Iphones have to offer. Then I came across a Feature that helps and tracks your sleeping habits, I set myself up with what my goal was and hit DONE!!! I usually don't use alarm clocks, I have severe diagnosed Anxiety so I get up in the A.M with little to no ease. So Monday morning was when the bed schedule feature kicked in and I was awaken by a familiar but paralyzing sound. As I was slowly waking up to the alarm tone "Early Riser", I was rushed right back to the room of an ex lover who I'd rather not name. So we will call him "little shit". This was the alarm tone I would use to wake me when I would sleepover there. It brought me right back to all the negativity, all the passive aggressiveness, the lies, the cheating, it was all over whelming! I grabbed my phone and If looks could kill, my new SE would've burst into flames. One of the ways I've found that keeps my peace of mind, is that I try not to give people, places and things that no longer serve me any more than the initial thought. I pride myself on not giving it anymore than that. But this was different, this was a traumatic time for me. I was very active in my drug addiction at this time. I'm almost four years clean so NEVER AGAIN, plus I'm way to fearful of the Lord's wrath. Have you seen what He can do? Any who, back to "little shit". My drug use was rampant and I'm sure he knew, but he was an alcoholic, so tomato, tomato. The combo was toxic at best. The sex was good, that was the least of the issues. "Little shit" was insane in the membrane, we lived 40 minutes away from each other, but I still felt like he had eyes on me. He hated that I had more guy friends than girls and would get bent out of shape if I didn't respond in a timely fashion. I hated that he was always broke and would smoke all my cigarettes after I just drove almost an hour to see him. One night when I came to see him after working an 8hour shift, he decided to get pissy and pick a fight with me that was just a mess of everything he wished he would've said but "little shit" was a little shit so had bottled it up.The verbal attack that ensued was verbally abusive to say the least. I ended up driving home at 3 A.M alone and crying my eyes out!! The only thing that kept me going was knowing that I had enough drugs on me to keep me numb, because sleep wasn't in my cards that night. After that night we talked here and there but that night was the camel that broke "little shits" back. I can NEVER use "Early Riser" as a tone for anything, he ruined that for me!! It's amazing how fragile and delicate our memories are. You try so hard to forget people, places and things. But all it takes is literally one tone to activate your memory rolodex, and bring you to a place in time, you prayed you'd forgotten.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Jacqueline Medina

This a blog’s from a Single Mom’s POV who is God fearing and belives in Ufo's and wants to see a Sasquatch in her lifetime. I'm a PURA VIDA AMBSDR/ JACKIEMEDINA21 use at checkout for 20%. I love TRUECRIME and the weirder the better!! Xo

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.