Humans logo

Home

A place this heart has built

By Gerlinda ReneePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Home
Photo by Elias Maurer on Unsplash

Somewhere down the line, home became more than a physical address to me;

It became a feeling, a smell, a state of mind, an internal piece of peace.

A silent whisper, a faint smile, even a distant memory.

Home is a place where I am not trapped by my surroundings but free to soar throughout the world with no anchors in site.

I find home in the clouds, as I embrace those who have moved on from this life watching over me and guiding my steps.

I find home in the hope that can be passed to one of my fosters in need of love.

I extend home as I move through life with compassion and an understanding that in times of pain and chaos, I can be a light.

I find that home dwells where there is a sense of safety present.

Feeling safe to feel, to be, to see, to love.

Home is where I find myself again.

After daily battles with what this life has to offer, I find my way back to who I am at my core,

and find warmth in remembering who I am to me and the world around me.

I find that I am home to so many in my path.

I walk through this Earth creating homes with my words, with my touch, my gaze, my sight, and with my work.

I build homes with broken hands and a tainted heart, but the most beautiful you could ever dream of.

Because these hands build from a memory.

A memory of what was longed for long ago.

The home I longed for was warm.

The home I longed for was kind.

The home I longed for was loving.

The home I longed for was forgiving.

The home I longed for encouraged me.

The home I longed for protected me.

The home I longed for provided for me.

The home I longed for supported me.

The home I longed for defended me.

The home I longed for saw me.

The home I longed for knew me.

The home I longed for was me.

The place I so desperately needed as a child was being molded inside me from all that I lacked.

Once I found it, once I felt it, I knew I had to share it.

For, my home is not a home, if it is closed off to others.

So I build. As I work on myself and find new ways to connect with my inner child, I build.

As I forgive myself for past mistakes, I build.

As I cast aside my ego to be present in times of discomfort, I build.

As I extend myself to be of service, even when I don’t want to, I build.

As I learn to advocate for my wants and needs without feeling guilty, I build.

Brick by brick, piece by piece, I continue to build until all I have left is what is leftover.

I extend a sense of home out of the overflow that I have built within myself.

I wasn't longing for a home, so that I can shutter myself from the world.

I was longing for a home, so I had a place to feel prepared for the world.

In all that I was searching for, after all that life had to instill,

I never knew that the home I longed for as a child, was my responsibility to build.

love
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.