Humans logo

Her Lips

A Story about Intoxication and Desire

By Alicia RodgersPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
1

As I walked, I ran my fingertips over the smooth, glazed wood that defined the bar. The sound of drunken chatter and soft laughter was faded into the background as the constant clink of glasses slammed into my ears. The restaurant was dim, as if all the colours of the sun had weakened and were slowly slipping away.

“A glass of whiskey, please,” I let my tongue caress my bottom lip, eager for the alcohol to slip down my throat, quenching my thirst. I placed my hand around the glass, so gently as if it was about to shatter, staring thoughtfully at the liquid. I picked it up, cupping my lips around the rim of the glass as I drank. I wanted to stop, but it was too late, the glass that I returned back to its home was empty.

I ran my fingers through my hair, when all of a sudden an intoxicating smell enraptured me. I looked to my side, and all I saw were two ladies drinking champagne. I never understood why drinking something that damages you so very slowly and silently was classed as celebrating. I look to my left, and the scent gets stronger. I see a woman who is so, so beautiful. Even in the dim light her beauty radiates so brightly that all her features are defined individually. She tucks a soft strand of hair behind her ear, as she lays her cheek upon her knuckle, sighing. Does she know how beautiful she truly is?

I straighten myself, adjusting my suit as I take nervous steps towards her. “Excuse me,” I place my palm on her bare shoulder, and what feels like electricity strikes my entire body. She gracefully turns her head towards me.

“Yes?” An innocent smile forms upon her plump lips.

“I saw you sitting here by yourself; I wouldn’t be a gentleman if I didn’t offer to accompany you.” She laughs lightly, before delicately issuing for me to sit with her hand.

“So, who are you?” Each syllable rolled off her tongue like satin, so smooth, so faultless.

“My name is Michael, and you?” I swallow, before looking down at her drink which smells dangerously immaculate.

“Clarissa, it’s very strong,” I look at her, puzzled, before realising she was talking about her drink.

“That’s a beautiful name, Clarissa,” She looked down, smiling. “And I know, I smelt the alcohol from the opposite side of the bar.”

She looked back up before asking: “Would you like to taste it?” She picks up her glass and offers it to me. I smile, but shake my head.

“I think I’ve had enough alcohol tonight, but thank you for the offer.” She looks at me thoughtfully, as if intrigued, before shrugging her shoulders and placing the glass down.

After a while of talking and getting to know Clary, I offered to walk her back home. The cold wind whipped my entire body as soon as I stepped foot outside, not helping the fact that I was intoxicated and the air made it far worse for me to compose myself. I held her hand in mine, and by having her hand in mine it meant that she was close to me; and that’s where I always wanted her to be. My head felt heavily light, my skull being unbearably heavy and its contents being as light as a feather. We walked up the steps to her house, not easily, but we did it, and she pulled out her keys, staring down at them as I smiled at her innocence.

“I had a really wonderful time tonight, Michael." I took her chin gently in my hand.

“As did I, Clarissa,” I saw her eyes, looming on my lips, and I took that as permission for me to kiss her. I leant down, my hand cupping her face when that intoxicating smell of alcohol returned unexpectedly. It was a strong drink, but I didn’t think it would be that strong to remain so dominating in her mouth. Without hesitating any longer, I placed my lips on hers longingly, groaning humbly as I tasted the strong liquor which haunted her lips. But like I drank, I couldn’t stop. I pulled her close to me and continued kissing her lips which were glazed with what seems like an everlasting taste of alcohol. She began to pull away, and as much as I wanted to stop, it was too late. She pushed me away from her forcefully, and that’s when my empty glass hit the bar table. I hear a beautiful laugh beside me. "I told you the drink was strong."

literature
1

About the Creator

Alicia Rodgers

Hi All, I'm currently a Law student in the UK. Writing has always been a passion of mine ever since i can remember. If you'd like to contact me my social media is as follows: @CherryAura_

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.