Humans logo

Goodbye 2000

Why I quit fighting.

By Heather FieldsPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Goodbye 2000
Photo by Sean O. on Unsplash

I'll start this off easily with, this was head to concrete frustrating, hard to swallow and ending with very few results.

I began this fight in 2018, making way towards a change for our current residents and future generations we're raising. It was immensely important to me, to see our Hoosiers, if not all of the world start caring about shelter for our friends and family; reasonable, needed modifications. However, since this start began, I've hit so many speed bumps I didn't think could exist, and the main point is, that no one cares about the needs our country needs right now. We're so hell bent on finding the next big thing, we're missing all of the little, extremely important changes that need to be made.

As I stated, this began in 2018, in an apartment division of where my daughters life was at risk and we were neglected as tenants of the community. We weren't the only ones, and I think that's important to note. This was not a race war, this was a human rights violation. You are to be given a home that is readily available and LIVABLE. This was not the case with them. We made countless reports and eventually reached out to the health department for further guidance, and hopefully, summations. As we did this, more retaliation came from the apartments in forms of further neglect, refusal to take or return calls, price gouging of rent and non-existent late fees. We also had major problems inside the apartment risking our health; black mold, roaches, no a/c, among other serious issues. At this point, with no work being done and signing my continued lease, because that's what I could afford, I went to the news. This led to further retaliation in complete oblivion to our apartment. We eventually withheld rent, because that was the only choice to move, and did move. Unfortunately, we left most of our memories, our belongings, sentimental valued items from passed family- all of it. I was shattered upon this happening. After the first court date, the judge was adamant about the money, but not about the problems. This is where I started to lose hope in this cause because if a judge does not see a routine, where there is imprints on every block, of where this apartment complex wanted nothing more than money, there was nothing I could do.

Fast forward to now, still in a shady landlord situation and with many peoples I experienced with the apartment complex. It's easy to take advantage when the legal system keeps allowing you to get away with it. There will be no change until our government decides to make those changes of importance.

I wish there was more fight in me to finish this battle out, but now I'm just concerned with making it a better future for my family as much as allowable. It's a lot of teamwork as a whole, it's a lot of praying and having faith, it's a lot of work- but the more you apply yourself, the better will come to you. Help your neighbor out, we're all struggling, friends.

I do encourage your to learn your renters' rights based on your state and complex, as well as document with video and paper problems at move in, dates of fixation, log phone calls and conversation, keep your stubs and screenshot your account withdrawals. Cover yourself entirely when renting and buying- not everyone wants to see you succeed or provide a safe environment.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Heather Fields

Unless some like you, cares a whole awful lot;

Nothing is gonna get better, it’s not!

- Dr Seuss

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.