Humans logo

Giving

Be caring

By NoShameIn / Tee MeePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Portion of the painting, 'The Great Wall of Poverty' (2002) by Michelangelo Lovelace

Being a resident of Rochester, New York is not an easy feet for many. While there is much greatness in our city, there is also much pain. So much pain, it is displayed in the eyes of individuals daily. Especially those who are struggling beyond all else. The souls who have mis-stepped and ended up off path during their journey. The individuals who lack housing, jobs or careers, family of friends to give a helping hand. The forgotten. The invisible.

I begin with all of this to remind you, as my reader, to remember these souls when you are passing them in your vehicles. Or when they are walking by the restaurant you are seated in. When you may accidently scowl at their foul odor and snicker at their overall appearance. They are humans who live, breathe, feel and need empathy when we can spare it.

Here is a short story about humanity. The humanity I have and am doing my best to instill in the next generation; being my daughter and nieces and nephews.

As myself and my child drive through our inner city streets, there is no lack of the homeless. My child was only 4 years old when she asked why the same guy was always waiting at the light with a picture and why he always looked so sad. The questions that ensued continuously after I explained why this man was always out there, were heartbreaking. Her need for understanding as to why this man had no one to lean on, BROKE me.

I have always tried to give what I can. A dollar here, a dollar there. I would donate clothing as opposed to throwing them away. If I had a blanket or gloves or a hat sitting in my backseat, I would offer it. I was brought up to give when I can, to whom I could and not expect to receive anything back. Giving with no expectations but to help the needy and possibly make another's day, is true giving!

As my daughter got older, she understood better. We began buying as many knitted blankets, socks, gloves, scarfs, hats and other high demand needs and keep them in a bin in the trunk of my car so when we see someone in need, we can offer. Sometimes we run out quicker than we can keep the items stocked.

One day there was a gentleman standing on a corner holding up a sign for a furniture company that was liquidating their inventory. I do not believe he was homeless but he looked very cold. Had no gloves on, no scarf or hat and his jacket seemed to be really thin. It was earlier in the day so the sun was out but it was still chilly with a decent breeze.

I was DoorDash'ing (food delivery service) for some extra money and had run out of "things to keep hims hands warm so they wont get too frozeden", the night before. I improvised. I had a delivery not even 20 minutes earlier that I had picked up and the order was cancelled, so I decided maybe, just maybe, this man would enjoy a warm breakfast while standing out in the cold. I turned my car around, drove up to him, put on my four-ways and called him to my car. He looked suspicious at first, as would I, until I offered him the meal. He was reluctant at first but I assured him it was no problem and to pay it forward when he could. The thankfulness in his voice when he said, "You brought this to me?", is more than I could have asked for. I may not have paid for that particular meal but the effectiveness of its charity was still the same.

My daughter is now a teen and she still gives me the, "Mom do you have money to give?" look when we pull besides a person in need. I oblige when I have cash. Her and I both feel bad when we do not have anything to give. Her level of empathy matches mine and for that I am grateful.

I have written these things, not to receive a pat on the back or to shame those who do not give or may not have the means to afford to do so but to remind all that we are all in this together. You do not know where your future will take you so be empathetic, be grateful and help when you can. Not ignoring a homeless person, even when you are not able to give, can be enough. They need love and compassion. They need to know they are not invisible and are worthy, even if it is a simple "Hello. I hope you have a good day."

humanity
Like

About the Creator

NoShameIn / Tee Mee

https://www.amazon.com/author/teemee

Barnes&Nobles: Tee Mee

https://books2read.com/u/mK6voP

https://www.wattpad.com/user/NoShameIn

https://www.instagram.com/noshamein/

https://www.facebook.com/noshamein.painorhappiness/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.