Humans logo

Getting Married

The Story of Us

By Austin SuarezPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
The fiancé and I

So first off getting married is a big deal to a lot of people. There are some things that one should consider before embarking on such a grand adventure but personally I believe that when you know you know. My fiancé and I have been together for a little over three years and I know most wouldn’t consider that a substantial amount of time to really consider getting married but here are some quick facts about us:

Started dating in 2019

Began living together after only 4 months.

Have worked together for a little over a year in the same job (that was fun almost lost my mind working with him!)

Definitely have had more than our fair share of ups and downs and nearly called it quits at least three times.

Now I know most people are thinking well if you’ve been through all that why are you two even considering marriage? Honestly I don’t see myself spending the rest of my life with anyone else. It’s just effortless when we are with each other (yes even in the rough times) and he brings me so much love and acceptance that I can actually see myself becoming a better man because of him. My life prior to my fiancé was chaotic to say the least; I had extremely low self-confidence and even lower self-esteem, I had so many risky encounters that I felt like that was all my life was going to be…an endless string of one night stands without the possibility of a happily ever after. Now here it is 2022 and honestly while I’m not a millionaire I couldn’t be more ecstatic with where I am right now today. I truly believe that money while it does help in many aspects is not a huge factor in my happiness because even if I were to become dirt poor tomorrow I would still feel like the richest individual alive with my man by my side.

Like I said life hasn’t always a picnic between us mainly because I sometimes still make stupid choices that really upset him and I know I need to stop acting like such a selfish jerk. The pain I have put him through is undeserving and I will forever have to live with that for the rest of my life but at least I can spend each day with him to show him just how much I appreciate and love having him in my life. It’s never too late to make things right so long as you communicate with your partner and be up front about intentions expectations and above all listening to each other. I don’t claim to be an expert by any means and I know different people have different struggles but it all can be fixed the same way: through communication.

While I’m super stoked to be marrying the man of my dreams I am also terrified. What if I’m not good enough? What if he changed his mind and leaves me at the altar? All these what ifs and more cross my mind and have so many times before I mean self doubt is not uncommon during a point like this in one’s life but the trick is to not let the voices win. stupid choices thaq really upset him and I know I need to stop acting like such a selfish jerk. The pain I have put him through is undeserving and I will forever have to live with that for the rest of my life but at least I can spend each day with him to show him just how much I appreciate and love having him in my life. It’s never too late to make things right so long as you communicate with your partner and be up front about intentions expectations and above all listening to each other. I don’t claim to be an expert by any means and I know different people have different struggles but it all can be fixed the same way: through communication. While I’m super stoked to be marrying the man of my dreams I am also terrified. What if I’m not good enough? What if he changes his mind and leaves me at the altar? All these what ifs and more cross my mind and have so many times before I mean self doubt is not uncommon during a point like this in one’s life but the trick is to not let the voices win.

Overcoming one’s own self doubts and sense of low self worth is no small feat, I am still battling with that myself but I know I’m my heart that this is my man for life and I will do whatever it takes to be worthy to be his husband now until our last breaths. This man is mine forever and always, and I cannot wait for the day when we say our “I do’s” to show that to the world.

marriage
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.