Humans logo

GENUINE LOVE IN A TIME OF PANDEMIC

Letter to Shamine Linton, a kind-hearted hero who can’t be stopped by COVID-19

By Maria AdukePublished 4 years ago 6 min read
4
Shamine Linton, founder of Sharia's Closet non-profit foundation that provide free, emergency clothing to individuals and families who are experiencing financial hardship or crisis in California.

My dear friend,

Before you ask me, I am well. I’ve been home for a while now, wasting time between news, mostly bad news, Netflix and social media, hiding from this serial and sadist killer that can’t be seen, called Covid-19. I’ve been shielded between my walls, guarded from the outside world, secured in my own quarantine, enjoying my family, my loneliness and my life while being closest to death than ever. I won’t lie, I love me too much, so I stay inside, I can’t love like you do. I’m not brave enough to go outside when the world is in the middle of this chaotic time, where everyone is afraid of everyone else outside, and designer masks are the new fashion look and social life is refusing social groups.

I am safe, working from home from my laptop and my phone, watching the world from my TV, and from time to time stopping by the store, only if I really need to, with my mask of course, and coming right back home. Then washing my hands, changing my clothes and wiping clean everything I touched including the things I bought because I’m terrified of this virus and not only for me but for others. I’m afraid for my husband, sons and daughters. I am safe and getting through, and you, how about you?

However, there you are; still working on Sharia’s Closet, your non-profit, everyday even though you should isolate; I’m not joking, you should, at least until this situation turns the corner. And you, collecting donations and receiving people at your own location, many homeless, men, women and kids who come to you, asking for clothing and shoes. I know they are in need, but should you help in a time like this? I know you clothe the needy and the people with no voice, but you, just like me have a choice. Quarantine is not the cure, but this virus is still inmune. I know that what I say won’t change your heart, you’ll still receive them with open doors, open arms, and an open heart.

Who could be brave enough to do what you do? To do what your husband and son do? They are both in the military, they are serving the community and risking their life against our common adversary, busy serving honorarily and just like you, human missionaries, living life by faith, staring at the threat in the face, that’s admirable, risking your well being for others, but still I can’t help but worry. And your daughter, knowing her, she’s probably the one encouraging you to do what you’re doing, you did name the foundation after her, Sharia is just like her brother, father and mother, a hero, not a runner.

I am not like you, I’ve met the barrier that defines my frontier, and I will stay at home, quarantine inside my home and I’ll stop with the questions and keep to myself my suggestions because after all the thinking, and worrying I come to a self-realization. I am not like you (a leading actor), you are not like me (a spectator). Every player has its roll, in the reduction of Coronavirus deaths toll. A leading actor, like you, lion heart warrior, (very few), always have the leading rolls. Real heroes, well respected, they are the movers and shakers giving away their time and hope, taking risk in the name of love. The other group, like me, the spectators, just staying home doing the community a favor, reducing incidents by isolation, by staying away from the statistics, even when it means separation.

I want to thank you for taking the time, from your busy life to Facetime me, thank you for remembering your friend from the Caribbean Sea. I recollect seeing your struggle, I noticed your hustle, sitting on the driver’s seat, sweating while smiling at me, with your car full of bags, working through the heat.

“What are you doing?” -I asked- “Picking up some clothes from a donor” You said, sounding a little out of breath “Woman, are you crazy?” -Was my first reaction- “in the middle of this pandemic with the risk of these clothes being contaminated! Why would you do that?” -and you said smiling- “My people need me now more than ever; I need to be there for them. Life taught me how to love others genuinely.” At that moment, even though I knew the meaning of genuinely, I asked you what you meant, I can’t remember your exact words, but you said something like this:

“Not everyone knows what genuine love means, people love each other conveniently, if you do something for me, I love you, if you love me, I love you, If I know you, I will care, but how difficult is it to love someone when they haven’t done anything for you? When they don’t love you and don’t even care about you? How difficult is it to love people just for being who they are, without any expectations? How difficult is it to love everyone independently of how they look, do, or smell? This kind of love is genuine love and comes from the heart. My heart talks to me when I know about somebody in need and is not at ease until I do something to soften their pain. Help them makes me feel fulfilled, I am almost sure this is my life’s purpose. Don’t worry about me, I am living my dream by following my heart song.”

I didn’t know what to say to that, your strength, your fearlessness, your dedication, your love, are the signs of a hero. I wondered for days for the right answer, even though there is no wrong, so I’ll tell in a poem since it is my hearts song:

My friend,

my selfless and loving friend,

I only wish you the best health ,

and that the light you reflect

stays with you as a shield

that protects you while in duty,

Inspiring other human wills.

Let the blessing fill your home

as rain, for your bucket list to refill.

Please take care of yourself,

take care of yours and the world,

keep your love, faith and smile strong,

let them be the shelter and the sword

that keeps you close to your heart song,

the genuine love that inspired your soul

making your day by day a work of love.

Here is a little advice to remember,

keep your hands clean and your heart tender.

Today, a brave hero does not need a cape,

my hero has a mask and gloves instead.

Keep your gloves on and away from your face.

to protect yourself for me and for others.

You are a heroine that came to this world as a mother

giving genuine love to all others.

You deserve nothing less than my love,

my appreciation, my respect and honor.

And a word, a song, a chant, or chorus

that shows how precious, ferocious, tenacious you are

my supercalifragilisticexpialidocious hero.

Yours, for the cause of love, hoping to soften your work by staying at home,

Maria A. Alabi

humanity
4

About the Creator

Maria Aduke

Dominican indie author, poet and folklorist. Visit my publications at https://quisqueyanapress.com/publicaciones-1. Donate to help me publish more books.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.