Humans logo

Frozen

I can’t believe you got me into this mess, Edith.

By Layla BorisouthPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like
I had opened the curtain to the dark dawn, but I quickly closed it from the cold making it was in and across the glass. 

That morning, the woods were filled with a slightly brittle silence. There was a horrible shriek from the trees that Edith said was a branch twisting under the sheer weight of ice. I had opened the curtain to the dark dawn, but I quickly closed it from the cold making it was in and across the glass. In our unheated room, our breath was vapor, and the floorboards cold to the pads of our feet. Edith's nose was red, and the tip of mine was numb.

“I can’t believe you got me into this mess, Edith. I can’t believe I fell for all of it.” I look at him as I cuff my hands in front of my mouth and blow my warm breath on them.

“Look, Frida. I care about you. Don’t you see that?” He takes his coat off and sets it on my shoulder.

“Care about me?” I say as I adjusted the coat's weight on my shoulders. “You dragged me from the parking lot of my work with a bag over my head? You couldn’t just tap my shoulder and ask me to follow you?”

Edith looks away from me, still tense. “Do you still love me?”

I blinked multiple times to come back from dazing out. “Edith, that’s beside the point in this situation.”

“Frida, I just need to get this off my chest. My heart aches that you just left with no explanation and that I couldn’t do anything to stop you. I'm not happy anymore, I feel worthless more and more everyd-”

“I have cancer,” I say quietly. "I've had it for a while."

Edith was frozen. He didn’t blink, move or anything. He sniffled quietly, tears threatening to spill from his eyes.

I couldn’t look at him. I love him but I didn’t have much longer. He finally moves and drives into me holding me tight.

“I love you Frida,” he whispers, and kisses my forehead.

I hold him tight and closed my eyes. I listen to the surroundings around me. The old dried dead leaves rustled in the wind caught my attention the most, as the sounds of dead, weak trees, creak at every push the wind gave. It's the end of fall and the air is colder than an ice cube as it climbs through Edith's jacket to the bottom of my spine. Most of the leaves are already gone. And the sight of every living thing coming to an end depresses me. The crumbling of the stiff leaves creates a home for many animals that need a place to hide during this time of empty sorrow.

I had the bright sun hit my eyes. I felt just a light breeze hit my neck down to my spine, creating goosebumps all over my body. I noticed I was laying on something more comfortable as I began to fully wake up.

"Frida?" A male's voice calling my name.

"Edith, where am I?"

"I'm Dr. Yhasman. You're at Saint Oaks Hospital."

I fully am awake now. I am confused and scared. I try to move my arms but my wrist is chained to the handrails.

"Frida, you're alright."

"How am I alright? You cuffed me to the bed. What's going on?"

"How old are you Frida?"

"17? Where is Edith?"

"You are 26 now. This is a mental institution. The night when you and Edith ran away. You slipped and hit your head on a rock."

"Where is Edith?"

"He has is own life now, wife, kids, a job. He left you to die, Frida."

breakups
Like

About the Creator

Layla Borisouth

Just here to let my voice out

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.