Humans logo

Free food drop off

Changing peoples lives

By Emma LouisePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Free food drop off
Photo by Kira auf der Heide on Unsplash

On new years eve 2020 after such a difficult year for me, my business and my finances i saw a local pub offering to give away free food. Food thier warehouse wanted to chuck! I cannot stand waste, especially if it is related to the way we treat animals such as dairy or meat. So with absolutely no shame i went and collected as much as i could.

When i got home i began to realise i have way too much and i will end up wasting it. So i put a post on my local facebook groups offering free delivery for anyone local.

I organised to drop off to people who were either struggling or iscolating. I felt so satisfied doing this. Seeing the look on everyones faces when they received thier food parcel of fresh veg, meat, cheese, milk, fruit and salad.

I was then contacted by a lady telling me she knows of someone living off food banks and desperately needs fresh veg. She was allot further away. i was hesitatant at first as it was about 8 miles away.

I asked about the lady and her circumstances and established she used to work in TV and is very embaressed about needing help. I didn't ask what exactly she used to do as i don't like to pry.

I decided she needed my help so i drove to her address without making any contact and i dropped the food on her door step. I waited in my car to make sure she collects it without having to face me, but she didn't come to the door.

I knocked again and hid in my car but nothing.

So i contacted the lady who asked me to deliver the food and she was unable to get in touch with her. I decided to risk it (praying nobody would steal her much needed delivery) and left the food and i went back to my other deliveries.

I felt very pleased with myself. Driving home a friend of mine called for a chat. So i had her on loud speaker and told her what I'm doing. She remined me she runs a FREE PANTRY and they actually can assist her with a small amount of funding towards some food. I was unsure how to go about this as the food was dropped off quite discreetly.

Now it wasn't until a few days later that i asked whether this lady did receive her food and i was told yes she did and she was very grateful for it. GREAT!

So i mentionned to the lady who originally contacted me that i know someone who can offer her some funding and if she would ask permission for her contact details to be passed on.

We eventually organised a food shop to be done online via the Free Pantry and this is due to be delivered in a few weeks. I found out the lady has no laptop/PC to communicate.

So now im worried, how will this lady eat between now and then...and i have a spare laptop she can have.

So i go back to the pub who have not only distributed all of the food locally that would have gone to waste but now they have set up a fundraiser to coninue to support people like this,

I collected more food and i dropped it off to the lady. By now we have had a few conversations on whatsapp so she feels more at ease with me.

I knocked and waited to speak with her. I gave her the laptop and the food and she just couldn't believe kind people exist. She was so thankful and such a lovely lady. We had a good chat about life, relationships, parenthood and we laughed together. I wanted to give here hope that things will get better.

I have previously sponsorred the local soup kitchen and i noticed the manager has moved onto another charity who are not only local to this lady but also doing a similar thing, distributing food that would have been thrown out. So now im talking to him about assisting this lovely lady.

I have now been told that this lady has been inspired to write a drama/story about poverty. Im so excited. I feel like we 3 women have brought her back to life and given her hope again!

Such a small thing can change someones entire world! the universe will pay you back in kind. Have faith.

Be kind always xxx

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.