Humans logo

Fool's Gold

Everything That Glitters Is For Me

By Robyn WelbornePublished 6 years ago 6 min read
Like

Have you ever wondered what life would be like if you had done something differently? Just think for a second if you were to have made a right turn instead of a left, where would you have ended up and whom would you have met? That thought had crossed everyone’s mind at least once in their lifetime. This time was different. Nothing was certain at the moment until you were introduced into my life. I knew for you now four years, and it was the best encounter that has ever happened to me.

It all started back in the year 2014. I had already graduated highs school and my college orientation was in two weeks. I had no friends. We all went out separate ways—or so I thought—when I went away to community college. My first day at college was spent being surrounded by a sea of random faces. I was lost in a concrete jungle booming with gossip conversations and trap music. My first class was about to begin in ten minutes, and I had no clue where the Braxton Building was on this campus. Wandering around clueless was the turning point of my day; I made a friend. Her name was Sarah Swayzee. We met outside in front of the Lunch Hall doors. She was on the opposite end of the sidewalk headed in my direction. She had bright blonde hair and an even paler completion. She looked like one of those preppy know-it-alls who were always the center of everybody’s conversations. Her hair draped down her back in loose beach curls, while her baby blue sweater flew in the cool autumn breeze. I adjusted my gray sweatshirt’s hood as she came closer to me.

She stopped in front of me, “Maxine, right?” She said flashing a playful, peach-lip-painted smirk at me.

“Max. Um, you can just call me Max.” I stuttered nervously as I pulled my brunette bangs behind my left ear and shifted my attention towards the ground. I looked back at her confused, “How did you know my—"

“—Name?” She giggled, “I know everybody’s name, honey. I’m the Student Body President. It’s my job to know the people here, especially the new ones.” She stuck out her hand towards me, “Maxine Carter?”

I stared at her hand a few seconds before grabbing it, “Yes, that’s me.”

“Sarah Swayzee.” We shook hands. “You look lost. Need any help?”

I flushed. ‘Was it that obvious how new I was?’ I thought to myself. I felt embarrassed but, staring at my phone, I only had five minutes left to get to class. I asked her if she did not mind showing me to the Braxton Building.

“Of course, c’mon.” She turned around and began walking. I adjusted my backpack and followed behind her. It felt as if she were giving me a tour of campus. “Well, here we are. The Braxton Building.” She gave me a sideways look before leaving. “Maybe we’ll see each other around. Bye!”

“Yeah ok, um bye.” My voice drifted off as her figure got lost in the crowd. ‘Room 204. Room 204.’ I repeated over and over in my mind as I searched for the staircase. I stopped a couple feet from the door and drew in a deep breath. I let out a heavy sigh and went inside. Class was boring. I strained to stay awake. Between writing notes no various trips to the bathroom, I could not keep my mind focused. I gave in and dozed off.

“Now class, don’t forget tonight’s homework that is posted up online.” I stood up and stretched while the professor ranted on about the assignments that he wanted due for next class. We all huddled in the hallway around the door. I squeezed my way through the pack and headed towards the Main Circle. As I reached the building’s door, I was slapped in the face by the chilly wind. I tugged on my drawstrings to close my hood. It was cold. During that short class period, the temperature had dropped severely. I was passing the Lunch Hall when I heard somebody yell out my name from the distance.

“Max!” I turned and saw Sarah sitting with a group flagging me down from the Grand Pavilion Archway. “Come over here!” I crossed through the Front Lawn, making my way over to her. She hopped up from the picnic table and gave me a hug, “Max, everybody. Everybody, Max.” She gave us quick introductions then sat down again. I stood there awkwardly as she finished up her conversation. “You need friends. Come on, let’s go make some.” She stood up again, grabbed my hand, and led me away. “I’ll see you guys later!” She called out behind us.

This time, for sure now, she dragged me all over campus in this blistering cold introducing me to anybody and everybody who would pay attention. I shoved my hands into my pockets to keep them warm; I could see my breath in the air. I played around with my car keys; I was ready to go home. She led me down through the auditorium to this little door behind the stage that was labeled: Authorized Personnel Only. I was surprised to see that the door was left unlocked. We went through and followed this narrow hallway to a back room that I later found out was used as a lounge for the drama club. The room was occupied. She left my side, and went to go sit down at the table with the rest of them. She motioned for me to relax and take a seat on the couch. I slung my back off to the corner and sat down. I still had my hands in my pockets and my hood on. I peeped over at Sarah and saw that she was looking back at me. She mouthed something to me which I figured out to be her telling me to take my hood off. I felt so out of place. I was uncomfortable just sitting there alone waiting for my “tour guide” to finish having her gossip session. I checked my phone several times to see how long we had been here. I was tired of waiting for her. Just as I had made up my mind to leave, you walked through the door. I was dumbfounded; frozen where I sat. Who were you? I was determined to find out no matter how hard my shyness stood in my way. I cleared my throat and tried to say something.

“Hey guys!” You said to everybody.

“Hey!” Everyone chimed back.

You walked over towards the couch and looked at me, “Hey.” You flashed a smile in my direction.

“Hey.” I blushed.

“Roman, hey!” Sarah jumped up from the table and gave you a long hug. “So, I see you’ve met the newbie.” She cut me a glance then looked back at you. She introduced us, “Max, Roman. Roman, Max.”

You stuck out your hand, “Roman.”

I grabbed it, “Maxine. Um, Max. I mean Max.” I got flustered. I began to stutter and let go of your hand.

You picked up my hand again, “I like Maxine.” You smiled, “It’s nice to meet you.” We shook hands.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Robyn Welborne

I am an aspiring creative writer who is currently working for my double Associate’s Degree in English. My writing has no limits and no filter. Anything and everything from all genres; if I think about it, then I will write it down. Enjoy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.